Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My first build - advice needed  (Read 3192 times)

dave parker

• Full Mayhemer
My first build - advice needed
« on: December 20, 2016, 01:33:18 pm »

Right

Some of you may remember me with my constant questions, disappearing for months then appearing back out of no where but yes I am back again, home projects finished, decorating done, xmas hols coming up...

And I am in need of more advice.

I have spent a lot of time (months and months) reading through peoples builds, everything from Glynn Guests excellent Motor Torpedo Boat, Bluebirds Fairey Swordsman, Bluebirds Cervia Tug just to mention a few.

I now need to make a decision on what to build first.

I am a relatively experienced model builder, from plastic kits to wargaming, to a bit of everything just not RC and not boats (although I have been reading the magazine since 2003!!!!!), and I have done sime timber work with regards to other home projects.

So, can I call upon all of you super stars new and experience to help me in my quest?

I would like something that is a good challenge, won't be done in a month or two, has plenty of building and planning, and thinking involved, something I can learn new skills as I go.

However, due to my lack of knowledge on things, particularly electronics I would like a kit I can purchase with everything that is needed to complete the build, correct sized motor/s, props/s, tube/s, fittings etc.

Ideally with recommendations on batteries etc too

I don't mind paying for good quality but it is important that I enjoy this first build or it may stop me from tackling anymore

Yes its really that important.

I have heard of model Slipway and Billings being of good quality but the doesn't really narrow it down to a specific choice of model.