Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Twin esc  (Read 2406 times)

The Wizard

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia
Twin esc
« on: January 26, 2017, 01:42:20 AM »

I have a fast patrol boat with twin KMB jets.
Twin 3660 4 pole 3180kv brushless watercooled inrunners
twin Boat 90 amp Esc water-cooled with BEC. one bec with red wire gone
twin nanotech 56Ah 7.4V 50-100 discharge batteries
Flysky FSiT4 tx and rx


The problem is that one motor keeps cutting out. Not necessarily the same one.
The esc then trys to reprogram itself, I think, it plays music.
I have programmed both Esc using a programme card.
After each attempted run the program is all over the place.
I have checked all wiring and connections,tried disabling both bec and used separate power supply for Tx.
Any ideas would be appreciated

Logged

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 591
  • Location: Cornwall
Re: twin esc
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2017, 05:03:17 AM »

Hi,
 
Have you taken one of the red leads out of one the ESC to receiver?
 
Regards,
 
Rich
Logged
Regards,

Rich

The Wizard

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia
Re: twin esc
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2017, 05:33:17 AM »

Yes I've done that and also removed both and used independent power to Rx
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,568
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: twin esc
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2017, 09:52:02 AM »

"twin nanotech 5.6mAh 7.4V 50-100 discharge batteries"
Is there a typo in there?  5.6mAH is next to nothing, so providing answers involves more guesswork than usual, 5.6AH or 5600mAH sounds more reasonable.  The usual cause for an ESC to reset itself is a "brown-out" where the supply voltage has momentarily dropped, usually because the battery cannot supply the current, sometimes due to a dodgy connection.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

The Wizard

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia
Re: twin esc
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2017, 08:21:16 PM »

yes that was a typo 5600 mAh is correct
Logged

tica

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
  • Location: Vemmedrup, Denmark
    • Skalamodelskibe
Re: twin esc
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2017, 12:46:07 PM »

 Have you also set the neutral - Full throttle separately for each ESC via. The transmitter ?

Logged
My postings are only reflecting my own opinion and should not be read as the holy grail of truth :-)

The Wizard

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia
Re: twin esc
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2017, 07:55:43 PM »

no I haven't . Don't know how to do that.
I'll have another read of the manual.
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,097
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Twin esc
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2017, 08:53:32 PM »


Double check to ensure all connections 100% ?
 I ask as you say "it plays music" which could be lost power and re-initialising.

.... or maybe overloading and cutting out, are the ESC very not?

Also  check, when programming, overload protection features.  {:-{
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

tica

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
  • Location: Vemmedrup, Denmark
    • Skalamodelskibe
Re: twin esc
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2017, 09:22:01 PM »

no I haven't . Don't know how to do that.
I'll have another read of the manual.

1: What type of are you using ?

2: First step is to disconnect both ESC's

3: Use the Programming card to reset both of them and then set them to the desired function, in your case I'll guess it will be FWD only

4: Then you connect only one ESC and turn on the power Please make sure that the stick is in neutral  (If you have removed the red wire please connect external power source)

5: The ESC should then first give you the amount of bib that is equal to the amount of LiPo cells you are using

6: Then it should bib bib until you move the stick to full power and you will get at bib confirmation that t is set. Then go back to neutral

7: Wait for a bib and you should be good to go (This is the "normal" way to do it at least with the ESC's I'm using.

8: Remove the ESC and repeat with the other one.

Br
Carsten
Logged
My postings are only reflecting my own opinion and should not be read as the holy grail of truth :-)

The Old Fart

  • Great Yarmouth Model Boat Club
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Caister-on-Sea, Norfolk, UK
    • Great Yarmouth Model Boat Club
Re: Twin esc
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2017, 08:36:22 AM »

If you have the TX on 125% it can mean that the signal goes out of range of what the ESC will accept.

ie 100%   1 - 2 ms
125%     0.8 - 2.2 ms

some esc do not like < 1ms

The Wizard

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia
Re: Twin esc
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2017, 12:01:03 AM »

I don't know how you set this.
Logged

The Old Fart

  • Great Yarmouth Model Boat Club
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Caister-on-Sea, Norfolk, UK
    • Great Yarmouth Model Boat Club
Re: Twin esc
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2017, 08:21:32 AM »

it's set from the handset.

adjustable from 0-125%

My Dusseldorf runs too fast so it's set at 40%.
Pages: [1]   Go Up