Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: First Brushless setup  (Read 1057 times)

jaymac

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,181
  • Location: Somerset
First Brushless setup
« on: April 30, 2017, 09:58:18 AM »

Hopefully soon about to setup first   brushless motor   think I have the gist of what to do but my query.On the initial setting full throttle then following the beeps etc., does the motor actually Run? or is it purely an simulation thing happening . (Bit worried about  the motor screaming to  full power like it does with the usual brushed esc )
It is a Turnigy outruner and Fusion hawk esc

Thanks
Jay
Logged

boat captain

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 475
  • Location: St Helens
Re: First Brushless setup
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2017, 11:11:16 AM »

The best and easeist way to set them up is with a progamme card suitable for your ESC.  No listening to beeps.
Logged
Joe
Liverpool MBC Committee Member
Chairman the Model Boat Convention
Chairman Merseyside Model Boat Association

steamboat66

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 150
  • maybe it will float!
  • Location: retford
Re: First Brushless setup
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2017, 12:01:24 PM »

The best and easeist way to set them up is with a progamme card suitable for your ESC.  No listening to beeps.
  this is true, but the question is about setting full throttle, which is done from the TX. yes, full throttle is applied to the "live" set up, no, the motor will not run. turn on tx, set throttle to max, turn on boat, wait for a/some beep/s, throttle to of, it's done.
Logged

jaymac

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,181
  • Location: Somerset
Re: First Brushless setup
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2017, 12:52:48 PM »

thanks as I am only interested in (at the Mo) in  Fwd/Neutral/Reverse don't fancy forking out another 15  for a programmerer but never say never. Just concerned that it  as said  goes full pelt like the brushed  setups does
Logged

imsinking

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 520
  • Location: Merseyside
Re: First Brushless setup
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2017, 05:13:13 PM »

If it's a new ESC , their usually set up for LIPO batteries , if your using NihM's or SLA's you will need to reset to  'no protection '  , a program card is best for that , shouldn't cost more than a tenner . . . AND if you are using LIPO's get a low cell volt battery alarm from  eBay,  you'll get two for a fiver , drop below 3volt per cell and it's knackered,  carry on using it and it's a bomb . . . . <:( 
Bill
Logged

stevesteve

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Re: First Brushless setup
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2017, 02:03:00 AM »

If it's a new ESC , their usually set up for LIPO batteries , if your using NihM's or SLA's you will need to reset to  'no protection '  , a program card is best for that , shouldn't cost more than a tenner . . . AND if you are using LIPO's get a low cell volt battery alarm from  eBay,  you'll get two for a fiver , drop below 3volt per cell and it's knackered,  carry on using it and it's a bomb . . . . <:( 
Bill


depending on what esc you have a usb esc programmer can be had for around 5 from banggood.com
Logged

spearfish99

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 310
  • Location: Northampton
Re: First Brushless setup
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2017, 05:55:57 PM »


depending on what esc you have a usb esc programmer can be had for around 5 from banggood.com

   And it will be money well spent. It makes setting an ESC up so easy
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up