Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Connecting 4 motors  (Read 2381 times)

Hmshood

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Buckingham
Connecting 4 motors
« on: July 11, 2017, 06:20:54 pm »


Hi ,
I am trying to find a simple way using a single (50amp) MTronics tio marine speed controller for my model, anyone have any simple ideas


 %%
Logged
I love warships bring back the big guns

Tug-Kenny RIP

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,670
  • Location: Newport. S Wales
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2017, 06:33:16 pm »


A tasty Fuse in the speed control output line, then an Amp meter set at 30 amps, and connect to motors in parallel, one at a time. Observe  the meter when you increase the throttle with each new additional motor.

Well, you did ask for the simple way.   :}

ken
Logged
Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,787
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2017, 10:37:10 pm »

More or less what Tug-Kenny said, but feed each motor through its own fuse.  You do need to know the current draw of each motor to pick the right fuse value, but, since they are (probably) in parallel, the total value of the fuses should be not more than 40 for a 50 Amp ESC.
After that, its just a matter of fastening wires together in the right order.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Hmshood

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Buckingham
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2017, 04:39:18 pm »


Guys,


That was very helpful however the real question was has anyone any knowledge of a suitable concentrator that the 4 motors could be connected to that has one connection to the speed controller as it has only one set of power outputs
Logged
I love warships bring back the big guns

Tug Fanatic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,946
  • Location: England
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2017, 05:25:35 pm »



The easiest way is to buy a 4 way fuse holders like the link below but there is lots of choice if you just search for 4 way fuse box

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4-Way-Circuit-Automotive-Middle-sized-Blade-Standard-Fuse-Box-Block-Holder-DG-/112293147024?hash=item1a25317190:g:uVIAAOSwcLxYIY6e

You connect the terminals on one side in series and to the controller and the terminals on the other side to each motor

What is the current draw of your motors or what size fuses (amps) will you be fitting as you need to make sure that your fuse box is rated for the load?

If you want extra terminals for other functions - light sound etc - then this is your moment as you could look for a connector with more fuses
Logged

Mark T

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,551
  • Location: Dudley in the Black Country
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2017, 07:50:14 pm »

Why not use a 5 pin wago connector?  One wire in from the ESC and then 4 out to each motor.  You would only need two of them on for the live and one for neutral.  Just make sure that you put a fuse in the circuit.


http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/WAGO-222-series-Spring-Lever-Push-Fit-Reuseable-Cable-Clamp-2-3-5-wire-connector-/112134817326

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,787
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2017, 09:54:57 pm »

Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

JIM WORNER

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
  • Not me chief : Engines
  • Location: KNARESBOROUGH North Yorkshire
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2017, 10:05:16 pm »

The simple answer is a length of "Chocky Block". link 4 terminals for positive, and 4 for negative and put the ESC leads to the other side.  If you are working with 385 motors and 6 or 7.2 volts don't even bother with fuses the loading will be well in .
Cheers Jim
(OK so I am only a sumpie, but fuses are hassle!)
Logged

tugboyben

  • Kirkleesmodelboatclub
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 715
  • WARRIOR TUG BOAT
  • Location: LIVERSEDGE
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2017, 10:10:01 pm »

Fuse's are a lot cheaper than new speed controllers


Please use  fuse's :-))


Jason


Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,787
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2017, 10:29:57 pm »

They also form a handy disconnection point to test individual motor circuits.  I normally wouldn't bother with a fuse between ESC and motor, but motors is a different ball game.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Tug Fanatic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,946
  • Location: England
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2017, 07:00:11 am »


They also form a handy disconnection point to test individual motor circuits.  I normally wouldn't bother with a fuse between ESC and motor, but motors is a different ball game.


Agreed. Plus a fuse immediately after the battery.
Logged

Hmshood

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Buckingham
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2017, 06:52:09 pm »


Thanks to all for the input will consider the best option with fuses of course.


Cheers Vic
Logged
I love warships bring back the big guns

Yoshic48

  • Retired
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Rugby England
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2017, 02:31:19 pm »


Agreed. Plus a fuse immediately after the battery.
Hi Guys ? and Gals? I am trying to find out a bit about ( Suppressing) motors in the boat the bow thruster came with a little ( Capacitor?) and the two big motors I have I need some advice on (doing those) trying to find a link I can use ??? Any Help Please? PS; MFA 800 Brushed
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,787
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2017, 04:01:14 pm »

At the top right hand corner of the forum home page is a handy box marked "search"  Typing "motor suppression" into it gave 50 hits of threads where the subject is mentioned.  I am fairly sure that some of them will carry pertinent information.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Yoshic48

  • Retired
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Rugby England
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #16 on: August 07, 2017, 01:36:57 pm »

At the top right hand corner of the forum home page is a handy box marked "search"  Typing "motor suppression" into it gave 50 hits of threads where the subject is mentioned.  I am fairly sure that some of them will carry pertinent information.

Thanks all for the links and It will be sorted now
Logged

Yoshic48

  • Retired
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Rugby England
Re: Connecting 4 motors
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2017, 09:10:26 am »

Hi Guys ? and Gals? I am trying to find out a bit about ( Suppressing) motors in the boat the bow thruster came with a little ( Capacitor?) and the two big motors I have I need some advice on (doing those) trying to find a link I can use ??? Any Help Please? PS; MFA 800 Brushed
Thanks for all info on that job done got it sorted (another question? anyone know on the yorkshireman Tug 1/48 scale what is the MAXIMUM
 weight Ballast before its too Much?? I may have to alter (what I have??) any replys welcome.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up