Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Brushless set up  (Read 1155 times)

Paragon

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
Brushless set up
« on: September 29, 2017, 01:45:23 PM »

Hi All .
I'm starting a Aeronaut Classic Sports boat shortly for a friend .
Can anyone recommend a brushless set up I could use for this type of small boat ?
Motor ,ESC, and battery .
All my builds have been regular brushed motors to date .
Not looking anything to expensive really.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks


John
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,319
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2017, 06:00:37 PM »

Hi John, you say you are building a small boat, it would help us if we know the size
Of the vessel. Is it going to be single or twin props?
Vintage model boats do some running gear kits for their range of classic style boats give them
A call they may be able to help.


John
Logged

Paragon

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2017, 07:18:21 PM »

Yes it's an Aeronaut classic sports boat 540mmx176mm single prop/ 25mm dia .




John

Logged

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 713
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2017, 06:08:06 AM »

Hi Paragon
Use a Hobbyking B28-57-17L(1700kv(630 watts) or a B28-57-15L(750WATTS), 45Amp ESC and a 2blade 32mm prop.
Battery either 2S or 3S.
Depends on the boat what size batteries.
Standard size is about 137x44x18 or a smaller twin setup(77x34x31) eg. Turnigy 1500mah 3S 25C.
We are using these setups in Aerokit Sea Hornets( length 650mm).
Canabus
Logged

Paragon

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2017, 09:26:31 AM »

Thanks Canabus that's exactly what I wanted.
I have lead acid stuff and brushed motors coming out my ears cause all my boats are working boats .
Need to get into the lipo stuff .
I'll have to buy a charger too .




Many thanks


John
Logged

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 713
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2017, 10:16:14 AM »

Hi Paragon
As for chargers, get a balance very good one.
Mine is one that the local club members use.
It also does lead, gel etc.

Get a safety charge bag, these are cheap at Hobbyking.

I gave a lot of my brush motors to club members and a few months ago I was helping cleanout a rental house.
Came home with a car load of stuff and 51 Gel cell 12 volt 7Amp batteries.
These brushless motors are far more powerful than the brush motors and equal if not more powerful to the old IC motors.

Canabus
Logged

Paragon

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2017, 12:52:21 PM »

Thanks Canabus , I appreciate that . I do need a new charger anyway but I really I should just get one that will charge a range of different types. I do normally buy most of my electrics from the component shop .
My issue with the brushless set ups was what size of esc I needed for motor and lipo battery but you have given me a baseline to work from .
Tell me this can I use my 7.2volt NiMH batteries with the brushless motor and esc ? As I have a Lorry load of those too . Did read one post somewhere saying you can .




John


Logged

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 713
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2017, 01:07:47 PM »

Hi Paragon
I have not used NiMH batteries on brushless motors, but, give it a go.
We all be interested in what happens !!!
If you live outside the box, you learn interesting things.
Canabus
Logged

chas

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 341
  • now in los montesinos Spain.
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2017, 02:50:04 PM »

Hi John, lots of people use NiMH batteries with brushless motors. As has been said before, volts are volts wherever they come from. All you have to do is supply the right number, and , crucially, enough capacity. Lipo are much better at giving a large capacity for the size/weight, but as long as your NiMH batteries have suitable amp hour capacity they'll be fine.
Chas

Logged

Paragon

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2017, 04:02:37 PM »

Thanks Chas I thought that myself but everyone that seemed to use a brushless motor seemed to use the lipo , so it put the doubt in my mind . I have various 7.2volt batteries in the shed that I have used over the years .
All the same still want to know more about the brushless/lipo setups. Suppose itís where  the hobby is going .
As I said earlier I really do need a new charger that can charge all types , the one I have is making a few strange noises !! Lol


Thanks


 John
Logged

JimG

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 568
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Dundee
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2017, 08:24:42 PM »

While brushless ESCs will work perfectly well with NiMHs they tend to be set up with a low voltage cut off for LiPos. They may need to be reprogrammed for NiMHs as they tend to recognise the number of LiPo cells based on the starting voltage and set the cut off voltage based on this. Normally for NiMHs you need to switch off the cut off in the initial programming. (If you can get an ESC with a programming card or box it makes the set up much easier.
Jim
Logged
Dundee Model Boat club

Paragon

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2017, 09:09:43 PM »

Thanks Jim . Do all brushless esc come with a programming card ? Or is it  only for the higher end ones ?
I may be as well just buying the lipo batteries and charger if itís going to be a bother .


Thanks for the info , all stuff I need to know .


John
Logged

JimG

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 568
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Dundee
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2017, 10:01:19 PM »

John it seems to depend on the manufacturer, some have programming cards and some don't. It doesn't seem to be cost related as some of the lower priced ones can use a card. My experience is generally with aircraft ESCs but I do have a couple of boat ones for high current use that have a programming box with a display. (A Turnigy one from Hobbyking, not an expensive ESC)My personal preference is LIPos and I no longer use NiMHs or Nicads except for receiver batteries.
Jim
Logged
Dundee Model Boat club

McGherkin

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 375
  • Location: Plymouth
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2017, 10:23:52 PM »

The hawk ones have a little handheld computer that you can plug in, they're great!
Logged

Paragon

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2017, 08:00:48 PM »

Thanks Jim/McGherkin
I'll have a better look this evening, I see on some hobby king motors it does state the recommended esc Amps which is helpful.
Do all makes of Lipo have the same connection plug or do you need to buy a charger to match the make of battery ?


John
Logged

JimG

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 568
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Dundee
Re: Brushless set up
« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2017, 10:20:11 AM »

John there are several types of connector that come with LiPos. Often depending on the capacity of the cells. Larger capacities are expected to be used for higher currents so have larger plugs. (eg. XT60 are up to 60 amps while XT90 are up to 90 amps. For larger currents up to 5mm or 6mm plugs and sockets are used.) Plugs on LiPos can be changed if you can solder but most times can be left as they come.
Most LiPo compatible chargers don't come with a specific plug but normally have 4mm sockets. These can then take a lead with the correct plug on the end, sometimes the charger comes with a range of charging leads to suit different plugs.
Jim
Logged
Dundee Model Boat club
Pages: [1]   Go Up