Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Relay Question  (Read 7013 times)

gman

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Relay Question
« on: October 30, 2017, 09:31:25 pm »

Hello, I was looking through some wiring diagrams and have a question. In the pic below, what is the relay switch used for and what type are used? The relay is located at the bottom of the pic past the fuse.

Starspider

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Relay Question
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2017, 10:09:09 pm »

It would appear that the relay is acting as the main isolating "switch" for the main power circuit, making it live as the 4.8v line is switched manually to the receiver.
But I am no expert  %)

Colin

Time Bandit

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2017, 10:11:03 pm »

The relay is used as main switch for the battery.

It has to be a 5V version (coil is powered by receiver batt) and should be able to switch at least 20A considering the 20A fuse.
IŽd personally use a relay with 25A+
regards

Tobias

gman

• Shipmate
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2017, 12:30:15 am »

So in this case the relay is reducing the power from 6v to 4.8v?

roycv

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2017, 05:30:33 am »

Hi gman, the relay is made up of 2 parts inside a plastic case, one part is a coil and when a current goes thru' it, it becomes magnetised and this then attracts the other part which is a small lever system that operates a switch, all inside the relay. The electrical contacts of the switch are brought outside the plastic case so they can be connected into a circuit.

So in this circuit the relay coil is  powered by the receiver 4.8 volt battery, the quite separate switch in the relay has been wired into the circuit with the 6 voly battery.