Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rudder linkage?  (Read 2182 times)

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Rudder linkage?
« on: December 24, 2017, 06:47:31 AM »

Hi guys,


I've been bashing my head all night on best way to connect rudder shaft to servo linkage, what methods do you guys use to connect the rudder shaft to the servo linkage ?


My rudder shaft is a plain 4mm stainless steel shaft


Cheers

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Cornwall
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2017, 07:32:13 AM »

If you search on 'rudder' there are some good examples from mayhemers   :-))
Logged
Regards,

Rich

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2017, 07:44:13 AM »

hey, i did a search but didn't really find anything, although i did find out that the reason washers are used is to act as a barrier of water being thrusted up the tube from the prop wash, but couldnt find anything about connecting rudder shaft to servo linkage :(

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,336
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2017, 08:03:59 AM »

 Hi tizdaz pm sent.


Stan
Logged

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Cornwall
Logged
Regards,

Rich

grendel

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,702
  • Location: Canterbury, Kent, UK
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2017, 08:41:13 AM »

I used the earth pin from a uk electrical plug, filed it to shape and drilled holes to connect the push rod, the rudder shaft was a perfect fit, just tightened the terminal screw - not sure if my rudder shaft was 3mm or 4mm though.
Logged

grendel

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,702
  • Location: Canterbury, Kent, UK
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2017, 09:16:16 AM »

sorry mine is a 3mm shaft.
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2017, 09:26:44 AM »

no probs thanks anyway :)

roycv

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,319
  • Location: S.W. Herts
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2017, 09:28:09 AM »

Hi I usually make my own tillers to suit, are you able to do basic metalwork, not difficult but you need a few tools. 
You could use a piece of Meccano, several come with collars or bosses on and they have a tapped and fitted screw, Meccano is 4mm shafts and holes etc.  I sometimes use the Meccano collars and solder on a hand filed and drilled tiller.  If you have a Meccano source they also do a hexagonal screw as well.  The Meccano collars are brass and solder up well.
Hope this helps,
Roy
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2017, 09:36:58 AM »

I was thinking of making my own, but I don't know if i could trust my solder work! I would need to silver solder it as its a large heavy rudder for my 1/12 build, i'm ok with normal soldering but silver soldering i've only done it a few times :s

roycv

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,319
  • Location: S.W. Herts
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2017, 09:43:30 AM »

Hi soft soldering will be quite strong enough, make sure you have a nice hot flow of solder and that will do fine.  As a comparison soft soldering is over 10 times better than an epoxy joint.
I have used silver solder but it is OTT for this.
reagrds Roy
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2017, 04:12:19 PM »

Hi soft soldering will be quite strong enough, make sure you have a nice hot flow of solder and that will do fine.  As a comparison soft soldering is over 10 times better than an epoxy joint.
I have used silver solder but it is OTT for this.
reagrds Roy


ah ok cool, would this be ideal for soldering my rudder onto the shaft? The rudder is 2mm brass plate & the shaft is 4mm Stainless steel? I also have some JB Marine weld which i guess i could use afterwards as extra strength?

roycv

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,319
  • Location: S.W. Herts
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2017, 05:30:39 PM »

Hi, my soldering suggestion is for soldering a collar to the tiller.  The tiller needs to be screwed to the rudder stock.  I would never solder the tiller to the rudder stock as you cannot remove the rudder for maintenance or for painting.  I pointed out that Meccano has a standard of 4mm for shafts and holes so might be useful.  Sorry for any confusion.
regards Roy
Logged

John W E

  • I see no ships !!
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,504
  • Location: South shields
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2017, 06:19:59 PM »


Hi Tizdaz
have a read through the majority/some of the masterclass builds you will find a mass of information there; of rudder linkages prop shafts and soforth - done by various members of this forum.   If you look at the Spashett fishing boat build which I did some time ago - you will see exactly how I linked my rudder to the servo and actually made the linkages and rudder.
http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,13888.25.html


john
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2017, 07:52:49 PM »

Hi Tizdaz
have a read through the majority/some of the masterclass builds you will find a mass of information there; of rudder linkages prop shafts and soforth - done by various members of this forum.   If you look at the Spashett fishing boat build which I did some time ago - you will see exactly how I linked my rudder to the servo and actually made the linkages and rudder.
http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,13888.25.html


john


great, thanks :)

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,336
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #15 on: December 28, 2017, 09:17:03 PM »

hi tizdaz just a few pictures to show the tiller arms I have made. I have done away with the silly small grub screws and fitted a m3 bolt instead. If you look at them you will be able to turn them up side down just in case room is a problem. I have not drilled any holes in the arms this can be done later. I looked at using the brass pegs from a 13 amp plug but the bolts are very poor metal. So I just soft soldered some brass shim onto a brass collet that's it. Just final point I have 2 pieces of s/ steel rod both 4mm one is just over 4 mm and the other is just under 4mm very hit and miss.

Stan. :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-))
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2017, 09:18:00 PM »

Great stuff! spot on thanks a lot Stan :)

ballastanksian

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,594
  • Model Boat Mayhem inspires me!
  • Location: Crewkerne
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2017, 10:05:29 PM »

Whatever you do, do not use M2 grub screws as the hex hole is too small to reliably work. I planned to standardise on these but after faffage with getting the right Hex spanner (.9mm)  {:-{ it did not seem to fit all the hex holes, so I would go for Stan's easy to see bolts or just a larger M size that allows you to see the hole! I make my tiller arms and collars from brass rod drilled and shoulder machined and a copper arm with two ends so that two linkages can be used to improve security in case one rod fails.
Logged
Pond weed is your enemy

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2017, 10:36:14 PM »

Hi ballastanksian,


This is what Stan has kindly made for me :) so will be using a normal bolt (not grubs) :)

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,336
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2017, 10:43:35 PM »

Hi Tizdaz will be sending some M3 bolts also. I tried m2 bolts in collets they were two small next size up m3.





Stan
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #20 on: December 28, 2017, 11:43:14 PM »

great stuff thanks stan :)

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #21 on: January 05, 2018, 06:33:02 PM »

Received the tiller from Stan, does the job spot-on, thanks Stan much appreciated! :)

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,336
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #22 on: January 05, 2018, 08:39:49 PM »

HI Tizdaz no problem glad it fits ok.

Stan. :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-))
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Rudder linkage?
« Reply #23 on: January 05, 2018, 08:41:59 PM »

its perfect, cheers Stan ;)
Pages: [1]   Go Up