Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trimming GRP hulls  (Read 2286 times)

Wykenwizard

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Trimming GRP hulls
« on: September 19, 2018, 07:53:37 am »

Hi, this is my first post. I am located in Grimsby so as you might expect I have a prime interest in building model trawlers. I have in the past made them in various sizes with wood and even card. However, I have recently bought two kits. The first was the steam trawler “Sisapon” from Deans Marine. I found it reasonably easy to put together despite several anomalies in the instructions which I suspect could easily traumatise a complete novice. On the whole though it is a decent kit and I enjoyed building it immensely. My second kit, which I haven’t yet started is Calder Craft’s “Milford Star”. It looks on first inspection to be a decent kit, however, comparison between the plan and the GRP hull indicates that the top of the Hull needs trimming. There seems to be about 6mm of excess material. My question is, how best to trim it? I have various tools that I have considered, these being a Dremel with a cut off disk, a razor saw, or something I have used with much success ( a jewellers saw) for piercing halfpennies making cut outs to leave just the sailing ship. I am thinking that in terms of accuracy the jewellers saw with a spiral blade might be the best option, although I suspect it will take several hours. Does anyone have a better solution? I would be very grateful for any help regarding this issue or indeed any other issues I might encounter with this kit.

craggle

• Full Mayhemer
  • Boaty McBoatface
Re: Trimming GRP hulls
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2018, 08:13:57 am »

I have found the drum sanders on a Dremmel work very quickly. Glass fibre can be pretty abrasive stuff to cutting tools so the small, metal slitting wheels on the Dremmel probably wouldn't last that long.