Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Set up for Rc ship advice  (Read 477 times)

MvModeller

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Ormskirk - West Lancs
Set up for Rc ship advice
« on: November 07, 2018, 11:26:13 PM »

Hi
I'm looking into buying a Radio set for a Ship I'm building..
I've seen a nice set... the Turnigy 9x. Now I've I know this many channels is pointless maybe for an RC Ship, however I'm also building a Tamiya Scania Rc truck that requires extra channels that I'd like to use this set up with also.
I've read that this radio set up is mainly for Planes and alike, Is it frowned upon to be using this signal type for land based models? Or can we get away with it as it's 2.4ghz?


Cheers
Logged

Andyn

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 589
  • Location: UK
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2018, 12:49:36 AM »

You can use pretty much any 2.4 set on anything :-))


I'd advise against the 9x though, I've read all sorts of dramas about them - chief of which is that it doesn't store bindings, which in my eyes makes it totally useless. If I were looking at spending under 100 on a radio set, I'd be looking at the Taranis QX7


https://hobbyking.com/en_us/frsky-taranis-q-x7-digital-telemetry-radio-system-2-4ghz-accst-black-eu-version-preorder-only.html
Logged

SailorGreg

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 748
  • Money talks - it says goodbye
  • Location: Hayling Island, Hants
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2018, 09:19:20 AM »

I bought the 9X only to discover the hard way that while it has a multiple model memory, there is a "feature" ( >>:-( ) of the system that prevents it binding to more than one receiver.  So you can only use it for multiple models if you re-bind the receiver every time you swap model. I would go with Andyn's recommendation, or this one, which I can assure you works fine!
Greg

Andyn

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 589
  • Location: UK
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2018, 10:33:33 AM »

The i6 is good, but quite poorly made and the other day while running with someone who had one his seemed to be swamped by my Taranis. You do get what you pay for though...
Logged

Corposant

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,609
  • Location: Hampshire UK
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2018, 12:15:28 PM »

I too have been contemplating the Turnigy 9x which appears to satisfy my requirements. (My Clyde Puffer uses 6 channels and I need a conveniently sited pot for moving the boom sideways and a 3 position switch avoids using the right hand stick for operating the hoist.)
It looked as if the Taranis would need setting up via firmware to get PWM on all channels.
Mike
Logged

Andyn

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 589
  • Location: UK
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2018, 08:36:13 PM »

The Taranis is PWM on 1-8, sbus on 8-16, like most high channel radios.


Programming a Taranis couldn't be easier with opentx companion, flashing rx's is a bit of a pain as you need to put jumper pins in the tx's module slot, but easy enough done
Logged

Corposant

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,609
  • Location: Hampshire UK
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2018, 09:34:59 PM »

Thanks Andy, that's really helpful - hopefully useful for MvModeller too!
Mike
Logged

MvModeller

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Ormskirk - West Lancs
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2018, 03:23:08 PM »

Cheers for all your suggestions and Advice, after looking into them I have decided to go with Gregs recommendation. The Turnigy i6.
The receiver that comes with the set up, looks pretty open, not water proof? Can this be changed? Or would it jist need some mods to waterproof?



Logged

Andyn

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 589
  • Location: UK
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2018, 05:47:47 PM »

I've never seen a waterproof reciever, by nature they need holes in them to plug the servos in
Logged

MvModeller

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Ormskirk - West Lancs
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2018, 05:52:12 PM »

Ah okay, I remember seeing a Waterproof speed controller so assumed a waterproof reciever would be on the market also.


Thanks Andyn
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18,414
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2018, 05:55:56 PM »


I've "waterproofed" receivers and servos in the past with melted wax from a lit candle.
Just drip it over the circuit ..... twice!
Easily removed with a heat-gun / hairdrier or-the-like.

Take the Rx case off first!   ok2

Also see: https://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=36872.msg523945#msg523945
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

JimG

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 524
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Dundee
Re: Set up for Rc ship advice
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2018, 08:22:13 PM »

To waterproof a receiver put it in a small balloon, put vaseline on the wires coming through the neck of the balloon then a tie wrap round the neck to seal.
Jim
Logged
Dundee Model Boat club
Pages: [1]   Go Up