Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Basic painting tutorial  (Read 6274 times)

slewis

Basic painting tutorial
« on: April 30, 2007, 10:17:04 pm »

Ok as the title says its basic but from other forums I have tended to gather that painting is a black art only to be undertaken by the chosen few . Lets put this record straight right now.

A bit of background here . I have been painting for the last gawds knows how many years cars . It's my trade and something I can do quite easily and with no thought at all . I was asked a while back if I could write a basic tutorial on painting techniques and after a bit of thought I did.
Believe me it took a LOT of thought to actually write down something that is automatic to me each and every day and try to make it understandable .
So below is the result of my efforts .
Bear in mind that I paint cars for a living and the tutorial was made for rc aircraft builders but the techniques remain the same .

If you have any questions please feel free to post them or PM me . I look in at least once a day  ;)

Shane

Preparation
This is most probably THE most important section in this article, without good preparation you are simply wasting your time, effort and money.
So what does good preparation entail?

For the purposes of this guide it is to be assumed the object to be painted is already glassed , or finished ready to accept paint .
Firstly you need to make sure that any imperfections are taken care of. Small dents can be filled with Balsa filler or a product made by 3M called Acryl red, a very fast drying lightweight and easy to sand filler used in the car repair business.
High spots can be sanded away using fine 800 grit wet and dry sanding paper (used wet) on a small rubbing block .Once you are sure that the surface is as smooth as you can make it ,you can move onto using primer.