Mess Deck: General Section > Beginners start here...!

Returning to modelling.

(1/1)

Fourtyfreak:
Hi all,

Semi-newbie here, returning to modelling after about 20 years out. I’m a mechanical engineer by trade so long terms I’m looking to make a steam powered launch of some kind, not sure exactly what yet, but that seems like it’s right up my street.

First off however, I’m gradually collecting the resources for a Springer Tug. I love the idea of one of these, and I’ve set myself the challenge of making it out of as much recycled stuff as possible. I dusted off my old 27Mhz Acoms RC gear over the weekend, I trust these are still OK to use legally in the UK.

I also have a Ripmax Spirit 600 motor which I’ll hopefully be able to use. I’ll need new batteries as my old Nicad pack are bound to be shot. Would Lipo’s be OK?

All the wood for the build is coming out of the work skip. I’ve done 9mm ply for the sides, but wondered if hardboard would be OK for the bottom skin. (With loads of waterproofing obviously.)

Anyhow, apologies for all the questions, but things have changed a bit in the past few years.

Cheers

Paul

Tug Fanatic:

Paul

Welcome.

27Mhz is still legal in the UK  :-))

Springers are slow models and a such work best with a motor that can turn a relatively large (40mm) prop relatively slowly (5-6000rpm max & probably 3-4000) whilst not using too much current nor generating too much heat. I do not know whether a Ripmax Spirit 600 fits this profile.

Motors do not care what sort of battery you use A volt is a volt etc etc.. A Lipo would be fine but be aware that most Springers use 6v and that going to 7.4v (2S Lipo) will increase the wattage and heat generated by around 50%. 

9mm for the sides sounds great but I would not use hardboard (nor MDF) in any model that I put time & effort into building. I am sure that you can, and someone might tell you that they have, but I wouldn't.

SailorGreg: