Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 1 circuit or 2?  (Read 201 times)

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
1 circuit or 2?
« on: January 20, 2019, 12:44:10 AM »

Hi guys, im trying to decide if i should use 1 circuit or 2 for my wiring?
Should i just run everything off one 12v 22ah battery or should i run the motor on a seperate dedicated circuit & the rest (such as lights/smoke/sound etc) off a seperate circuit?
originally i was going to use 2 two circuits as explained above for longer run times but now im thinking of just connecting everything up via the P107 to keep things more simple & tidy, my hull will always be carrying 5 SLA batterys to help with ballast so spare batterys wont be an issue when one runs low on power.

I have a P107 distribution board:
https://www.componentshop.co.uk/p107-power-distribution-board-with-power-switch-bec.html?___SID=U Which i can connect everything upto i think, these are the things i will be connecting:
P98 ESC 24Volt brushed motor (running on 12v which ive tested & works great).https://www.componentshop.co.uk/p98-high-power-electronic-speed-controller.html?___SID=U
Smoke unit + 12v fan (this uses a converter boost 12v to 24v for the mist generator).. same as this one: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Boost-Converter-DC-DC-10V-32V-to-12V-35V-Step-Up-Power-Supply-Module-10A-150W/272429630172
RX - Using the RX connector on the P107

12v LED lights x6 (each one has resistors fitted) these will be connected via the Action P44 Switch) https://www.componentshop.co.uk/p44-universal-twin-switcher.html?___SID=U
Sound Unit & Speaker (not bought this yet but it will be the Bier sound module)
So my question is, will the P107 handle all of the above? Im guessing it will but want to be sure!
cheers

Akira

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Hope, Maine USA
Re: 1 circuit or 2?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2019, 01:11:53 AM »

The only things I see that will draw any amount of amperage, are the motor, via the ESC, and the smoke unit. If the latter is a Misty unit, it will not draw any appreciable amps, leaving you with just the motor to contend with. LEDs draw essentially nothing. The radio, via the BE/VR draws 1-3 amps at the most, but I doubt that you will break 1 amp.Therefore... the choice is yours. There is no reason, electrically to create two circuits, BUT, many folks do like to separate the motor via dedicated battery so the radio will not suffer if the motor battery begins to run down.I don't charge for two cents %%
Logged

derekwarner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7,892
  • Location: Wollongong Australia
Re: 1 circuit or 2?
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2019, 01:21:33 AM »

Daz...just thinking from outside the box....even with the P107 Action board, why not 2 or even 3 dedicated circuits


1st circuit ...for the main motor & ESC

2nd circult....the converter ....can be a 10 Amp draw
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Boost-Converter-DC-DC-10V-32V-to-12V-35V-Step-Up-Power-Supply-Module-10A-150W/272429630172
so apart from the 10 Amp listing,the manufacturer also nominates additional requirement....
a. Short circuit protection: No (Please installs the fuse or protection circuit at input parts)
b. Input Reverse protection: No (please comply with a reverse protection or connect a diode at input parts

3rd Circuit....anciliaries

Please excuse Dumb WEB computer >>:-(
Logged
Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]
Illawarra Live Steamers Co-op
Australia
www.ils.org.au

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: 1 circuit or 2?
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2019, 01:52:56 AM »

hi guys, thanks for reply's :)
ok heres the mist unit im using, recieved it today & have to say its a great bit of kit https://www.modelboatsmoke.com/ a member on these forums is making a PCB for me which will allow for proportional control so more or less steam is produced depending on throttle, infact i got a msg earlier to say hes completed & tested it so its ready to go! :)
As you poiinted out derek the mist unit has no protection so at the very least i will fit an action inline fuse between the output from the P107 & the mist unit converter, what amp fuse should i use as im also not very clued on up on which size fuses to use for different modules!?
Like i say ideally i would rather keep it all on the same circuit so it keeps the wiring simple & neat with just the single power switch, but if this might cause an issue in terms of overload then i will run the motor/esc off a seperate circuit?
cheers again guys much appreciated!
Pages: [1]   Go Up