Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.  (Read 1159 times)

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« on: January 27, 2019, 03:31:05 AM »

I have a set of plans for the Panther from a 1920 boat building book. The design is pre 1920 and I am looking at building it at around 60 inches (152 cm). I have included a pic of the boat and a link to the book.
What sort of brushless motor and speed control would I need to turn the 4 inch 3 blade prop to get a scale speed of 40 mph?


https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=chi.103525610;view=1up;seq=7
 
( page 28 - admin )
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18,515
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2019, 03:43:32 AM »


...  I am looking at building it at around 60 inches (152 cm) ....


WoW! Big boy!   :o

 A few good 'brushless power-head' blokes on hear should give you some guidance soon....
 
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2019, 03:46:37 AM »

I can downsize if need be, 60 inches looks really good on paper but the practical may be a terror.   :D
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 712
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2019, 04:11:15 AM »

HI Antipodean

Contact offshore electrics, they also have a forum site.
http://www.offshoreelectrics.com

Canabus
Logged

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2019, 04:27:57 AM »

HI Antipodean

Contact offshore electrics, they also have a forum site.
http://www.offshoreelectrics.com

Canabus


Thanks canubus, not sure why I always forget about that site.
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

tigertiger

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,854
  • Location: Kunming, city of eternal springtime, SW China.
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2019, 06:33:21 AM »

I can downsize if need be, 60 inches looks really good on paper but the practical may be a terror.   :D
 


The key question is, can you transport it whilst safely protecting the props and rudder?
Logged
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2019, 07:12:06 PM »

 


The key question is, can you transport it whilst safely protecting the props and rudder?


Transport is not an issue. I always make 2 stands, one for display and one for travel. I also have a station wagon with a ton of room or can use my sons pick up to travel. I have a giant scale tug as well and that takes a ton of room. The small tug can almost ride on a lap in the front but that is only if I load the fleet.
Problem is that by the time I am done I will need either a van or covered trailer for them all  :-)
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 712
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2019, 11:08:42 AM »

Hi Antipodean
One of our club members has a Fantome which is about 46-48" with a G60 on 6S with a 3 blade 60mm prop and that pushs to 40mph mark.

Canabus
Logged

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2019, 02:15:11 PM »

That is a good looking boat but I am looking for scale speed. The real boat did between 35 and 40 mile an hour which I am not sure what that is in 1:6 scale.
The boats I am looking at building are all from 1918 to 1920 and they thought 20 mph was a good turn of speed. :-))
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 712
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2019, 03:17:27 AM »

HI Antipodean
Two ways to slow the boat, is to drop from 6S to 4S which drops the rpm by 4000 or use the end stops in the transmitter.
My little 1920 SG and K Gentleman's Runabout (34") has a 35mm 3639-1100kv on 3S with a 37mm 3 blade prop.
Good scale speed, but because of no spray rails your have to be careful in the turns.
Canabus
Logged

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2019, 03:29:10 AM »

That looks like the numbers I am looking for right there Canabus. 
I have decided to drop the scale to 1:6 so the Panther will be 40 inches now.
The panther has quite a bit of flare in the bow and the design calls for what is almost a spray shield in front of the engine compartment so shouldn't be too much of a problem.
Thanks  :-))
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 712
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2019, 06:54:03 AM »

Hi Antipodean
The 3639-1100kv(800 Watts) can be straight change over to 3648-1450kv(1600 Watts), but, I would use a 100 Amp ESC .
Both motors will run on 3 and 4 S Lipo batteries.

Canabus
Logged

martno1fan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Location: Blackpool
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2019, 03:52:26 PM »

For a 40" hull id be looking at a long can 40 mm water cooled inrunner not an outrunner designed for airoplanes  %) . I guess it depends how heavy the boat ends up . Something like a 4092 will work well on 4 s and spin a bigger more scale looking prop . Prop down if you dont want too much speed .Im  a big believer in bigger is better when it comes to motors and esc,s ,you can then run at 75%  rather than have to thrash the guts out of a smaller motor and draw less amps too . Im sure Canabus will disagree as he always does  {-) but thats my opinion on it for what its worth .
Logged

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2019, 12:12:38 AM »

Thanks martno1fan, that adds to things to think about. I realise that a lot of what it is going to come down to is budget restraints. I have 2 boats I have to finish before the slipway is clear for the Panther but I like to get planning done early so I have a month or 2 before I have to worry too much.
I do prefer the go larger and throttle back idea myself, I use it on my tugs and my drones.

Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

martno1fan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Location: Blackpool
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2019, 09:55:01 PM »

Not sure if you know of Barracuda rc boats? but they do a few nice kits and will also cut kits for you from plans .Check them out .
https://barracudarcboats.mysimplestore.com/products/hacker-gentleman-racer
Logged

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #15 on: February 01, 2019, 03:55:09 AM »

Thanks for the link but I have too many plans already, at least that is what my wife tells me lol,
They do have some nice kits but a small range of choices.
At the moment I have to finish my giant scale tug, a boat for my granddaughters and then I have 2 for the build board.


Right now I have plans for the following boats as well as the Panther
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

martno1fan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Location: Blackpool
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2019, 08:52:45 AM »

Their biggest market is where they cut kits for you either from plans they can draw up for you or from plans you email them . All they need are the plans then they design the kit around them and they do fantastic work at a good price .I understand if you like to cut parts yourself at home but just in case i thought id let you know haha . Might be of interest to someone watching your build anyway .
Logged

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2019, 04:33:00 AM »

martno1fan, I have searched their site and haven't been able to spot a plan cutting service. Is it something you have to email them about?


If it is available I have maybe one plan they could do for me, the rest are all line drawings and I make my own plans from those.


A cutting service like that is a very handy service.
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 712
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #18 on: February 05, 2019, 05:53:02 AM »

Hi Antipodean
For boats one and three you could start with the Aerokits Sea Hornet or the Chris Craft 1949 Runabout, resize to 40" and change the rear frames.
Boat two the SG&K 1920 Gentleman's Runabout without the side wings.

Canabus
Logged

martno1fan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Location: Blackpool
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2019, 11:57:47 AM »

martno1fan, I have searched their site and haven't been able to spot a plan cutting service. Is it something you have to email them about?


If it is available I have maybe one plan they could do for me, the rest are all line drawings and I make my own plans from those.


A cutting service like that is a very handy service.
Hi yea if you check their site he does mention that they will do designs etc  ,if you email him direct  Alex the owner will tell you what they can do as regards a cutting service , they may need to make some changes to certain plans to make them work on the cnc machines which would cost extra . I know in the past he offered to cut me some kits for me to make plugs for my fiberglass hulls i manufacture .Did you notice the Gentlemans racer kit he does  already ? pretty sure he does that in diff sizes on request .I know he has a 72" frame kit on the site for one .Either way hes a nice guy and its worth having a chat to him  and see what he can offer .

https://barracudarcboats.mysimplestore.com/products/custom-design
Logged

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2019, 01:49:47 PM »

I may do that for the old ski boat. I already have the templates cut for the other boats so I will spend the time cutting those. It can be fun to drag out the scroll saw now and then.
I did have a close look at the Gentleman's Racer, it is a good looking kit. 72 inches is past my size limit for speed though  :-))
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

martno1fan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Location: Blackpool
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2019, 03:38:14 PM »

Yea i think the 36" version should be about right  :-)) .If you do decide to go with a 72" at any point you could use one of these lol .
Logged

Antipodean

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • Madness that floats
  • Location: Tennessee, USA
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2019, 09:00:19 PM »

That is enormous !!. I have just finished cutting the pieces for the Colek. I believe it is 30" when finished. That one is small but is going to be fun. I am building 2 of them, one to hull stage for a friend who is just getting interested in boats, he needs a hobby so he will try it out. He gets it on the condition that if he doesn't like boat building he gives it back. One for me as a mess about boat on quiet days. The nearest thing I will ever get to needing a motor that size is going to be about 50". lol
Logged
What do you mean 1:1 is not a model?

Hotglove

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Rochester Kent
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #23 on: February 09, 2019, 11:26:21 AM »

I took Canabus' advice and fitted a Turnigy 3648 1450kv in my Chris Craft Runabout. Motor is rated at 6s but I run at 3s and never go over about 60% throttle. The model carries a bit of extra weight with the crew and a few extras but I was delighted with the performance and running temps.
Logged

martno1fan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Location: Blackpool
Re: 1920 Panther Hydroplane.
« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2019, 12:01:03 PM »

That is enormous !!. I have just finished cutting the pieces for the Colek. I believe it is 30" when finished. That one is small but is going to be fun. I am building 2 of them, one to hull stage for a friend who is just getting interested in boats, he needs a hobby so he will try it out. He gets it on the condition that if he doesn't like boat building he gives it back. One for me as a mess about boat on quiet days. The nearest thing I will ever get to needing a motor that size is going to be about 50". lol
Yup was going in one of my 58 Apaches on 10-12 s but i havent the time to finish her so im selling the parts ,240 amp esc and motor  anyways .Boats already gone .
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up