Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Illuminated power switch  (Read 912 times)

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Illuminated power switch
« on: January 07, 2019, 02:12:34 AM »

Hi guys, ok at the mo i have a simple on/off power switch which is similar to this:

But i want to use something like this one off ebay: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SmartSwitch-12V-24V-22mm-IP67-Steel-LED-Illuminated-ON-OFF-HALO-Button-Switch/142394830989?hash=item212764b08d:m:mNFmbyjP43NOsbKwNL_UxdA:rk:1:pf:0
but im not sure how i would connect it up, it shows a daigram but im a little confused by it as my current switch is just wired using the positive wire from battery?
heres the diagram:Any ideas?
Cheers :)



malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,461
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2019, 09:42:26 AM »

Illuminated switches, as well as the normally expected switch, contain the light source that needs power so they need a bit of extra wiring to get the power to the light. 
Internally, it connects between the switch terminals marked "+" and "-", as shown, it lights when the switch is operated. 
If it needs to be on permanently, move the purple wire from "C" to share with the yellow wire on "NO".
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2019, 01:16:04 PM »

Oki doke, thanks 🙂

coch y bonddu

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Bethesda
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 03:49:40 PM »

couldnt copy and past mods delete this
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2019, 03:59:48 AM »

will these switches be ok to use with a fully charged SLA as it will push out around 14v on full charge?
this switch in particular states 12/24v but some of the others that are similar just state 12v, will these be ok to use as a main power switch from my 12v SLA?

cheers

coch y bonddu

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Bethesda
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2019, 07:35:55 AM »

100% safe




dave
Logged

DaveM

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 220
  • Why on earth do I do this?
  • Location: Nottingham
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2019, 08:35:17 AM »

Switch is rated at 5A maximum current - this is more important than the voltage.
DM
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,461
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2019, 10:01:23 AM »

Switch is rated at 5A maximum current - this is more important than the voltage.
DM
The voltage gets a bit crucial when considering the thing lighting it up.  Too little, not bright enough, too much, a brief, bright, life.  While the switch might handle more than 12 volts, the light might not, and the internal light on switches tends to be not replaceable.  Sealed for life.
A 12/24 volt type "might" have a constant current circuit limiting the lamp current (might be an LED. might not) rather than a simple resisitor, or it might just be fainter on 12 volts.  Anybody's guess.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2019, 03:38:43 AM »

Battery im using is a 12v 22ah, so would i need a switch that states 22amps or more? & obv 12v.

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,461
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2019, 09:20:03 AM »

Battery im using is a 12v 22ah, so would i need a switch that states 22amps or more? & obv 12v.
The 22aH refers to the capacity of the battery.  Think of it as being a statement of the size of a fuel tank.  It tells you almost nothing about the current that it can deliver, what it can deliver has sweet nothing to do with what any individual bit of circuit will draw. 
Since almost every switch made is good for 12 volts, that is taken care of.  Switches do have two other ratings.
One is for how much current that they can carry when settled "on".
The other is for how much they will reliably live through when changing state. 
When the contacts are close together, they can arc, this usually happens when the circuit is being broken as the flowing current hops over the small air gap.  But most switches have a bit of contact bounce, and a single operation is more like a round of applause, being a series of makes and breaks.
The light part will take less than 100mA, whether it is a GoW bulb or a LED with a limiter, and is fairly independant of the load being switched.
Usually, what will handle a lot, will handle a little, so the linked one should work fine provided that the panel it mounts on is strong enough.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

coch y bonddu

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Bethesda
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2019, 05:33:57 PM »

If you want to put more then the stated amperage through a switch why not do it the easy way m8 same as I have done on the Happy Hunter and will do so on the Tid as well.....go out and buy a relay rated at 70 amp this will handle the power you need


relay numbers


86 power up from batt THIN lead
87 to the NEG of the batt
30 power from the poss side of the batt
87 Power to your distribution board or fuse box


ebay item no 264106020754


Then it you can use your switch to power the boat as when you flick it to ON then the relay will power up the boat...


Dave
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2019, 06:29:07 PM »

Oki doke, cheers guys for info much appreciated!


How you getting on Dave with your TID, you done much more to it? I had a little break from it but now im back at it, hoping to get most of it done for around summer time 🙂

coch y bonddu

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Bethesda
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2019, 06:42:11 PM »

Not touched it for around 6mnths been building Raf rescue launches MIGHT put it up for sale soon as it is




Dave
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2019, 07:05:19 PM »

Ahh shame fella 🙁 well if you do sell it im sure new owner will be happy, you done good job on it so far.

RST

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 445
  • Location: UK
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2019, 09:40:06 PM »

Just asking if ther is any reason to go for an illuminated switch?  Sometimes I've done it and looked back and wondered why.  It looks a very complicated subject from these posts.  For me it's a bit easier, I work-out what is the likely current you will pull (max of your ESC, or fuse rating) and choose a switch that roughly covers that.  For me, I usually visit the local motor factors for "big" switches.  Their "pearly wot-not" range or similar usually has big toggles, pushbuttons etc and there's usually a big toggle switch with a 25A+ rating which is just about all I could think we would usually need.  They're usually quite cheap.  If you're confused about switches, I'd imagine including relays etc on the circuit would be more confusing.
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2019, 11:30:26 PM »

Hi RST


i want an illuminated switch just as a visual aid just so im sure its switched off. But i have a P107 board and reading the info on this says i can use pretty much any switch, so ive fired a mail to action for more info 😉

coch y bonddu

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Bethesda
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2019, 03:52:46 PM »

Having read the splurge on the P107 you can defo use ANY switch on the board as it says so....all you need is the connector to the circuit board ....if you allready have a micro switch with it all you need to do is to connect your switch to where the micro switch was




Dave
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2019, 12:12:25 AM »

Having read the splurge on the P107 you can defo use ANY switch on the board as it says so....all you need is the connector to the circuit board ....if you allready have a micro switch with it all you need to do is to connect your switch to where the micro switch was




Dave
i was thinking it would be ok but want to double check with someone with more knowledge with this kind of stuff so cheers for that Dave ;)
just one more question.. Originally i had my power switch inline inbetween the battery & the P107 (i didint use the switch on the p107) so it isolated any power going to any of the curcuits etc including the P107 which was the first port of call so to speak. If i use only the power switch on the P107 (& remove my inline power switch) does this mean that the P107 will still be drawing any current from the battery with the switch in the off position? as ive read elsewhere that some circuit boards still draw a small amount of current even with the power switched turned off?
cheers again :)

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,461
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2019, 10:14:57 AM »

With modern transistors that really do switch off, the residual current draw will be indistinguishable from that which the battery leaks naturally.
In a big boat with a big battery, not a problem.  A power on indicator light would probably drain more power overall than the switch circuit lying dormant.

While caution is generally a good thing, there is such a thing as over-thinking yourself into a problem that was not there in the first place.
The only time that I can remember thinking an indicator light would be useful was when sorting a tug with a small black switch on a smart black panel partly hidden under a deck.  And that was the switch on the "other" ESC.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

DaveM

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 220
  • Why on earth do I do this?
  • Location: Nottingham
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #20 on: January 20, 2019, 10:48:12 AM »

P107 already has indicator LEDs which light up when power is applied. Would it not be possible to contrive to install it where one or more of those can be seen e.g. through a cabin window or portlight? If not then it would be relatively easy to remove one and refit it onto a two-wire extension, then mount that LED where you can see it.DaveM
Logged

tizdaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Chester
Re: Illuminated power switch
« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2019, 04:57:22 PM »

ok thanks guys for info helped alot, im going replace the one that comes with the P107 & replace with an illuminated one off ebay as all i would need to do is fit a futaba male connector to it which i have plenty of :)
Pages: [1]   Go Up