Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Morse Code Simulator?  (Read 590 times)

plastic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 979
  • Bobbing Along!
  • Location: Watford
Morse Code Simulator?
« on: January 28, 2019, 06:59:59 PM »

I'm building a destroyer and I'm looking at adding sound to it.

I can get an ASDIC and klaxon sound generators but is there such a thing as a Morse Code simulator that can give bursts of Morse-like sounds that I can link to a signal LED on the bridge too?

I'm thinking of maybe using one of those birthday card sound effects PCBs with a fake Morse signal recorded into it or maybe a couple of 555 chips into a mixer to give a semi-random bit stream into a Peizo sounder.

Low cost and simple is good.

Any ideas?
Logged

C-3PO

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 788
  • I thought that hairy beast would be the end of me
  • Location: Outer Rim world of Tatooine
Re: Morse Code Simulator?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2019, 07:27:24 PM »

Yes is the simple answer...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_SiZkciRsA&feature=youtu.be

Forget the size of the board in the video - it can be made to work on a much smaller board for the grand cost of about 3-5

The message being sent in the video is the emergency message sent by the Titanic CQD CQD CQD CQD CQD CQD DE MGY MGY MGY MGY MGY MGY position 41.44 N. 50.24 W

Can be made to do what you want as well as the speed / tone amended - the video is approx 12wpm

C-3PO
Logged
I think it's the way I have learnt most of my stuff - getting very stuck first...

plastic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 979
  • Bobbing Along!
  • Location: Watford
Re: Morse Code Simulator?
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2019, 07:32:19 PM »

That might be useful - I've never used one of these - how much does it cost to get up & going? (leads, software, pcb etc)
Logged

C-3PO

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 788
  • I thought that hairy beast would be the end of me
  • Location: Outer Rim world of Tatooine
Re: Morse Code Simulator?
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2019, 07:38:02 PM »

Not a lot (3-7 including peizo sounder) - I'll post details asap - keeping the chancellor happy right now doing my VAT return!

C-3PO
Logged
I think it's the way I have learnt most of my stuff - getting very stuck first...

Hellboy Paul

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 177
  • Location: Where ever I am at this moment in time
Re: Morse Code Simulator?
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2019, 07:38:27 PM »

If morse code could be heard that far away from the ship, I don't think I would want to be in that radio room when sending or receiving a message.... It would be louder than a Motorhead concert... %% %% %%
Logged

plastic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 979
  • Bobbing Along!
  • Location: Watford
Re: Morse Code Simulator?
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2019, 07:41:13 PM »

If morse code could be heard that far away from the ship, I don't think I would want to be in that radio room when sending or receiving a message.... It would be louder than a Motorhead concert... %% %% %%
{-)
I know - it's just for novelty value. I think the ASDIC would kill the sub with sonic shock-waves too.
Logged

DaveM

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 327
  • Why on earth do I do this?
  • Location: Nottingham
Logged

plastic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 979
  • Bobbing Along!
  • Location: Watford
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,551
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Morse Code Simulator?
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2019, 10:14:39 AM »

An advantage of the card module is that you can build an actual message to record using something like Audacity.  Cut and paste generated tones into a stream, record the result to the card.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

plastic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 979
  • Bobbing Along!
  • Location: Watford
Re: Morse Code Simulator?
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2019, 10:22:59 AM »

The card modules are about 60p each in quantities of 10 or more and can record between 10 and 120 seconds each. I was thinking about just ripping chunks from The Cruel Sea or similar on Youtube and recording them into the chips. I can have sirens, klaxons, ASDIC and morse all selectable then. I've got a 5-channel radio set for it so there's 3 spare channels muck about with.


I could trigger them from a receiver switch or like the old days with a servo triggering microswitches. Cheap and bodgy but probably effective.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up