Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Scroll saw advice.  (Read 17299 times)

Colin H

• Full Mayhemer
Scroll saw advice.
« on: September 25, 2007, 10:28:54 pm »

My Lovely Wonderful wife has offered to buy me a scroll saw for Christmas. ;D ;D

I have never had or used this type of saw before so am looking for advise, tips etc even down to should I be buying a scroll saw or a band saw. Help please. ???

Yours Colin H
do every thing today tomorrow may not arrive.

bigford

Re: Scroll saw advice.
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2007, 11:25:53 pm »

Craftsman 16 in. Scroll Saw, Benchtop, Variable Speed 21610

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00921601000P?vName=Tools&keyword=craftsman+16+in.+scroll+saw
this is the one i JUST bought about a month ago so i'm still new to it
but i like it so far

djrobbo

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2007, 11:26:49 pm »

Hi d epends a lot on what you want to cut out , i.e. large or small and intricate. I have both in my workshop and tend to use the band saw for roughing out larger pieces. the scroll saw is really fine and will go round amazingly tight curves, plus you can take the blade in and out so you can cut out window openings etc.  Its basically an electric fret saw.  remember them ?  Any way as they say you pays your money and you takes your choice......regards....bob

Roger in France

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2007, 07:18:00 am »

Well if she is paying you have to have the biggest and best there is !

If you are determined to have a true "scroll saw" look at "Hegner" it is the Rolls-Royce of saws but costs a small fortune.

Seriously, give us a little more idea of what you want to do with it and those of us with experience of the various types will be happy to advise. For example, I have: