Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Waterproofing and sealing?  (Read 4665 times)

Gazzalene

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Waterproofing and sealing?
« on: April 25, 2019, 07:06:15 pm »

I am new to building and at the bit where the plan says to seal/waterproof while assessable .
I am using balsa and ply.
When epoxy is mentioned,i think of Araldite.
Can anyone give advice on what I should be doing inside the hull and outside?
On plan says to epoxy the hull the other epoxy with light glass cloth.

dougal99

• Full Mayhemer
  • Huntingdon, Cambs, England
Re: Waterproofing and sealing?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2019, 09:23:43 pm »

Inside the hull a couple of coats of sanding sealer will do the trick unless you are expecting a lot of water! the exterior can be done the same way with added tissue but for a 'proper' job  I recommend  z-poxy (or similar) and glass tissue.
Don't Assume Check

Gazzalene

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2019, 08:04:29 am »

I have z-poly bought for another reason some time ago.
its came in a box with 2 bottles,i have used this as a glue! its fairly thick,would seem too thick to paint on.
Do you thin this stuff down?

grendel

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2019, 08:35:48 am »

I find with zpoxy, that it seems quite thick, but once you start spreading it with a brush it seems to go a long way, a single mixing pot was enough to do my 40" hull with some to spare (on the outside at least) if you have a lot of internal structures, that might use a bit more getting it into all the nooks and crannies.

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2019, 09:32:49 am »

There are different types of Z Poxy. Glues with various setting times and finishing resin. It's the last you should use for covering a hull. Use the wrong type and it will be like covering it with syrup which has gone rock hard.....
Colin