Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cura questions from a new user  (Read 910 times)

RST

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,102
  • Location: UK
Cura questions from a new user
« on: May 11, 2019, 11:42:56 PM »

Hi,

Jut starting in 3-D printing and getting surprisingly good results on a stupidly cheap small Steadytech / Moniprice printer with PLA.

Is anyone failiar with Cura sicing program?  I have some questions I can't find answer to on google so far...

I'm having problems wih the Cura generated .gcode file only saving a part % of the print.  I'm doing a preview of the process before saving the .gcode file -if I'm only looking at a part percentage on the preview it seems not to write the full file.  Is that normal?  I've had one good print so far, otherwise printer keeps stopping 20mins into a 1h print (it's only a small part).  I only noticed when I had a brainwave and dragged the .gcode file back into Cura -no wonder, it's only been producing 20% of the layers, save for the one good time!

When the print finishes, the extruder stops dead on the spot.  It's generating a hole/blob on the part at the end of the print.  Can't see a way of retracting the extruder head away at the end of the print, just a 5mm vertical retreat would do.  Can't find a way to program that so far -any pointers please?  There's maybe a term for it I'm not getting right on google.


Is Cura the best "easy" slicer to use?  I think this is the default program for my machine.  But it's doing some strange things sometimes -filling some objects which are "cut-outs" / "holes" rather than "solids".

...This is just an entry into the 3-D world for me.  Stupidly cheap printer but it has great reviews.  I understand most of the settings, but the above are eluding me at the moment.

Also: I'd like to know although I understand why not to print via USB (which seems counter-intuative), but my machine has a USB port but it does nothing when laprop is connected -why even bother fitting it and giving a cable in the box!  Is that normal??Thaks for any guidelines,Rich


Logged

grendel

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,778
  • Location: Canterbury, Kent, UK
Re: Cura questions from a new user
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2019, 07:50:30 AM »

I dont use cura as my machine has its own dedicated slicer, my slicer shows a preview of the object after it has sliced, including any supports, so I can check whether it is complete. most problems come when there is a problem with the original cad file, a missing face or a gap somewhere.
Logged

RST

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,102
  • Location: UK
Re: Cura questions from a new user
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2019, 06:10:11 PM »

I re-drew everything, no difference -just worse.  Seemed to be a problem with Cura slicer.  Uninstalled, re-installed and nothing worked still, then all of a sudden (changed nothing, honest), it started working fine!  The .gcode files went from 0kb (dead give-away) to actually having some file size.  My windows defender then started complaining yesterday afternoon also, dunno if was related.  All working now -very impressed with the results!

Must have not installed properly first time because now: 1) all my .gcode files have a "Cura" icon, 2) Cura doesn't automatically close at the end of saving a .gcode file, 3) Cura slices and previews as you change settings now rather than having to press a button at the end, 4) the extruder automatically retracts and moves to "home" at the end of a print now.
Logged

grendel

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,778
  • Location: Canterbury, Kent, UK
Re: Cura questions from a new user
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2019, 07:39:08 PM »

whew, glad you have managed to get it all working, sometimes its necessary to run the program with added admin authorisation to get things working properly.
Logged

me3

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
  • Location: Poole, Dorset
Re: Cura questions from a new user
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2019, 09:26:08 PM »

I use Cura, only just seen this - glad you got it sorted, happy to help if required in the future!
Logged

RST

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,102
  • Location: UK
Re: Cura questions from a new user
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2019, 12:44:02 AM »

I use Cura, only just seen this - glad you got it sorted, happy to help if required in the future!
....Just saw your message now.  A genuine IT glitch when it installed it seems.  My printers only a cheapy, but already knocked out a Bantam tug hull 350mm long costing about 4.50 of filament.  Cura works perfectly, just have to learn a bit better 3-D program as I pretty much mastered tinkercad now, time to try fusion 360 again.  Unfortunately its now almost 20 years since I last used Autoship and forget how to actually design in it anyway, still have it -if my old Vaio laptop even still works.  Need to find a decent hull design package I can re-learn.
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,852
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Cura questions from a new user
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2019, 05:15:07 AM »


I think the Cura is very popular with 'Makers Muse' on Utube....
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

RST

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,102
  • Location: UK
Re: Cura questions from a new user (new version not working)
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2019, 07:37:33 PM »

Just to say I got the pop-up for the new release and downloaded it 4.21 or summit.  It doesn't work, couldn't even open the program. Lots of users having problems on the forums. None of the "fixes" worked for me. So back on the old version again. Had to re-install it from the original software provided on the SD card as there doesn't seem a way to install previous versions from curas website. Lucky I had the configuration to put back -in. All working and printing again. Anyone else struggling. Don't bother with the update!


Rich
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up