Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tug Bow Thrusters  (Read 3723 times)

Mach1

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Tug Bow Thrusters
« on: June 03, 2019, 01:37:49 pm »

I have just obtained a ready built model of the Amsterdam tug and noticed that it has a Graupner bow thruster built in. I have connected it to a battery and the motor seems to run well.
Although I have used speed controllers on previous models that I have built for the main propulsion motors, I have never used a bow thruster before.
Do I have to connect the motor to a speed controller, and in turn to my receiver, and what controls due I use on my transmitter to operate it?
Any help would br much appreciated.

Tug Fanatic

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Tug Bow Thrusters
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2019, 03:25:47 pm »

I have just obtained a ready built model of the Amsterdam tug and noticed that it has a Graupner bow thruster built in. I have connected it to a battery and the motor seems to run well.
Although I have used speed controllers on previous models that I have built for the main propulsion motors, I have never used a bow thruster before.
Do I have to connect the motor to a speed controller, and in turn to my receiver, and what controls due I use on my transmitter to operate it?
Any help would br much appreciated.

Think of your bow thruster as a propulsion motor - it is just aimed sideways rather than fore & aft.

You need some way of turning it on & off both forward & reverse. You could use a servo & microswitches or a switched controller but much the best solution is to use a speed controller just as you have with your main drive motors.
I am not familiar with the Graupner unit but you can find out how big a controller you need by connecting the battery to the thruster via an amp meter.