Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Prop Rotation  (Read 4129 times)

CGAux26

• Full Mayhemer
Prop Rotation
« on: June 09, 2018, 05:37:52 pm »

There are frequently threads with the central issue being which way props should turn, especially on twin screw boats.  For those who only go ahead except to stop, you may stop reading here.  If you do a lot of maneuvering, towing, docking, etc. this is for you.

Prop walk must be considered in setting up prop rotation.  An article is included that explains prop walk rather well.  So I am saying that outward-turning (going ahead, facing forward looking at the props) provides better handling.  I am not good at diagrams, so just imagine a twin screw boat with outward-turning props that needs to spin left on its beam ends.  Put the rudders hard to port, starboard engine ahead, port astern.  The bottoms of both props are now moving left, acting like car tires on the road to move the stern to the right.  Voila! A much tighter turn than if you did the same thing with inward-turning props.

https://www.sailmagazine.com/cruising/walking-the-prop

To make yourself a believer in prop walk take your single screw boat out and stop it dead in the water.  The give it a quick goose of throttle in reverse, then stop.  the boat's stern will swing left if it has a right-hand prop, or it will swing right with a leftie.  Again, the effect is caused by the bottom blades act like car tires.

meechingman

• Full Mayhemer
  • Tugs Rule, OK!
    • Andrew Gilbert
Re: Prop Rotation
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2018, 02:03:09 pm »

Agree 100%.