Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Replacing rudder servo in a new build  (Read 827 times)

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,277
  • Location: Leeds
Replacing rudder servo in a new build
« on: August 10, 2019, 03:17:14 PM »

Last year saw the build of Fishing boat Patrica/May finished but in less than one year the cheap rudder servo gave up and stopped working. Out came the cheap job to be replaced with a Hitec servo far better quality one that will last. I have included some shots of the internals of the model  showing the new servo  and the wiring fitted last year. See link for original build on https://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,55460.200.html  Forgot to mention motor also changed very sluggish on full throttle
 
Stan. :(( :(( :(( :(( :((old servo  :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-))new servo

 
Logged

Capt Podge

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3,179
  • Location: Blyth, Northumberland
Re: Replacing rudder servo in a new build
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2019, 03:42:21 PM »

This serves to prove that, when building a model, access to the running gear needs careful consideration - nice one Stan :-))


Regards,
Ray.
Logged
Pop top campervan needed

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,277
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Replacing rudder servo in a new build
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2019, 05:42:22 PM »

HI Ray spot on seen to many models with poor access to vital parts that may have to be replaced in the future. Poor wiring can also lead to future problems also.

Stan. :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-))
Logged

canabus

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 751
  • Boats a hole in the water you pour money into!!!
  • Location: Tasmania,Australia
Re: Replacing rudder servo in a new build
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2019, 05:51:02 AM »

Hi Stan
What was the motor replacement, also what 3 blade prop are you running???

Regards
Canabus
Logged

derekwarner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,964
  • Location: Wollongong Australia
Re: Replacing rudder servo in a new build
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2019, 06:02:03 AM »

Very tidy Stan :-))  considering the number of components, wiring and limited space .....is this a model fuel gauze filter on the inlet side of the pump just to keep floating house bricks from the pump suction?


Derek
Logged
Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]
Illawarra Live Steamers Co-op
Australia
www.ils.org.au

JimG

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Dundee
Re: Replacing rudder servo in a new build
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2019, 12:40:23 PM »

Keep an eye on that filter, I have found in the past that the aluminium body tends to corrode internally when used with pond water. This can lead to the filter gauze and the outlet blocking up.
Jim
Logged
Dundee Model Boat club

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,277
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Replacing rudder servo in a new build
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2019, 02:12:49 PM »

Hi All will answer the following for you.
1 The filter is the type used by the model aircraft guys.

2 The motor was a M F A 385 this has now been replaced with a speed 400. The prop is from prop shop  30mm in dia  and is three bladed power is from a 7.4 lipo battery.

3 Yes the filter is aluminium but it is taken out and cleaned after each sailing and the filter is also cleaned.

Stan.
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,277
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Replacing rudder servo in a new build
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2019, 03:13:31 PM »

All the modifications are now complete and the model is back in working order. I hope to have this model and the rebuilt lobster boat at Blackpool should you wish to have closer look.

Stan. :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-))
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up