Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please  (Read 372 times)

Peter57

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Grantham UK
Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« on: September 30, 2019, 11:07:39 AM »

I have acquired a Futaba F-14 transmitter as part of a restoration project. The transmitter has six proportional channels (two central sliders as well as the usual sticks) and seems to work fine now that I have replaced the battery.

The transmitter also has two additional switch panels inserted in the option fields. Looking at the old manual I think these are Multi-switch 8 modules (each has six switches; a mix of 2 and 3-way plus one momentary switch). I believe that I need one (or maybe two) decoders if I want to use these additional functions, but I do not think these are still available. I note that Futaba make a Multi-switch 16 Decoder which is available from a couple of places.

Please can anyone advise whether this will work?

Many thanks in advance.
Peter
Logged

DaveM

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 350
  • Why on earth do I do this?
  • Location: Nottingham
Re: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2019, 12:42:03 PM »

Peter
The short answer is that I don't think so. I have a copy of Robbe-Futaba's Multiswitch leaflet whch shows the various encoders and corresponding decoders. It suggests that you need a seperate decoder for each encoder i.e. you'd need two Multiswitch 8 decoders #F1513. If you send me your regular E-Mail address then I can send you a PDF of it and you can make your mind up, based on the best available info I have.
DaveM
Logged

Peter57

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Grantham UK
Re: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2019, 12:54:30 PM »

Dave,

Thanks for your comments and suggestions.

I will send a PM with my email address.

Regards
Peter
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,906
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines

Peter57

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Grantham UK
Re: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2019, 03:39:08 PM »

Thank you.

I will look at these options.
Logged

timgarrod

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 284
  • Location: derby
    • Alvaston Pirates Model Boat Club
Re: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2019, 05:14:39 PM »

i'm current in the process of Making these decoder as found they where getting hard to get.


in the final stages of testing but if interest, feel fee to PM me :)


Here's the test video :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nUeZ01a9d3s

Logged

cos918

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,135
  • Location: Abingdon
Re: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2019, 08:16:16 PM »

I have several F14 a good raido but not worth upgrading . Unless you need a 8ch plus 40 mhz raido eg a sub its not worth it. The raido while good is old . Sticking with the tray type raido. You have the FRSky Tranis X9E .This comes has a 16ch and can expand to 32 ch. Its fully programble and will knock the socks off the F14.If you wnat to spend the extra money and efferot on an F14 fair does but morden raido are cheaper and better. As a 8ch raido its great but other than that its had its day.
John
Logged

tsenecal

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 329
  • Location: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Re: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2019, 10:14:21 PM »

another source for the decoders is wetronic in the netherlands...   better and less expensive than the robbe parts

https://wetronic.nl

https://wetronic.nl/multi-switch
https://wetronic.nl/multiprop-1406659121
Logged

Peter57

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Grantham UK
Re: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2019, 07:10:36 PM »

Thanks everyone for the comments and recommendations.
Logged

RST

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 669
  • Location: UK
Re: Futaba Multi-switch decoder? Advice please
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2019, 11:30:16 PM »

I'm going back a good few years but having bought an f-14 I thought one of the benifits was it was so modular.  Wasn't that long one of the mags showed how to do dual rates -so I did that on the f-14 for a few just quid compared to the full price switch.  f-14 had extra unused channels built-in so I made my own switch banks which co-incided with veroboard positions.


So still have my F14 and is still my favourite transmitter to hold in my hands, ever.  Whilst I can't remember the diy mods I did on it it wasn't rockt science and I think same technology gave maybe 10 switched functions from one channel like MRW or others offer for decoders.  I never did quite work out what 70'odd quid bought for a couple of switches and resistors on a board got, plus a 60'odd quiid expander module achieved when there was a 40odd quid expander decoder and tx mods were between 5 and 10 quid.

...Unless of course I guess you wanted to finesse and ultimately push the F series upto and past 20 channels.  The number of functions at that must be enormous.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up