Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Electronize Switcher  (Read 839 times)

RichardE

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Electronize Switcher
« on: October 07, 2019, 10:42:15 PM »

Hi Everyone,
I am new to the forum but just returning to the model boat scene after many years.
I am looking for any information that can be offered on the Electronize 4 way switcher which I built many years ago. There doesnít seem to be any info on the Internet so I wondered if someone might have an instruction sheet tucked away somewhere that I could borrow or if they could send me a scan?
Many thanks 
Richard
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,332
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2019, 07:32:45 AM »

Hi Richard pm sent.




Stan.
Logged

RichardE

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2019, 08:57:44 PM »

Big thank you to Stan!
After a very informative chat I have decided that the switcher wonít do the job I needed it for and will be following Stanís advice and going for a quad device from action electronics.
The somewhat ancient electronize device will go back in the drawer.
Richard
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,332
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2019, 09:23:11 PM »

Hi Richard the last time mine was used was way back in 1992 for one year. Since then it's never been used consigned to a dark draw. But good in it's day.




Stan. :-))
Logged

Capt Podge

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3,275
  • Location: Blyth, Northumberland
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2019, 09:29:51 PM »


The somewhat ancient electronize device will go back in the drawer.
Richard


A future collectors item maybe?  %)


Yes, I agree, Stan is always ready to help us and share his knowledge.


Regards,
Ray.
Logged
Pop top campervan needed

andyquirot

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Jersey
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2019, 09:52:05 PM »

Hi there
On eBay they do these(Radio Control 2 way Relay Switch RC R/C Tank Boat Tug)
Sorry to say but blowing my one trumpet they are made by me.
 
[/size][/color]
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,332
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2019, 10:05:22 PM »

Hi in this instance the fellow member needed a four way switch. Any pictures and info on your product?




Stan
Logged

andyquirot

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Jersey
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2019, 07:57:27 PM »

Photo as requested.
Regards Andy Q

Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,332
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2019, 10:54:08 AM »

HI Andy Q could we have more information about this unit?  What is the cost were can it be purchased? Is the unit a latching type what is the max current it can handle? Sorry to ask these questions but it is information relevant to this product.

Stan. {:-{ {:-{ {:-{ {:-{ {:-{
Logged

C-3PO

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 819
  • I thought that hairy beast would be the end of me
  • Location: Outer Rim world of Tatooine
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2019, 11:41:33 AM »

Logged
I think it's the way I have learnt most of my stuff - getting very stuck first...

Skimmer Fan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 293
  • Location: Wigan
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2019, 12:45:39 PM »

I have used Andy's products for years and found them excellent. 
Logged
Regards
Skimmer Fan

coch y bonddu

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 210
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Bethesda
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2019, 03:53:26 PM »

Interesting statement in that link......
Any motor that you need to control forward or reverse. As Stan has asked what is the MAX current it can handle
Dave
Logged

DaveM

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 348
  • Why on earth do I do this?
  • Location: Nottingham
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2019, 04:25:04 PM »

The relays appear to be rated at 10A @ 30V DC - so 10A?
DM
Logged

colh107

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Looking into getting back into it, after 35+ yrs!
  • Location: Lincoln
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2019, 07:32:07 PM »

Big thank you to Stan!
After a very informative chat I have decided that the switcher wonít do the job I needed it for and will be following Stanís advice and going for a quad device from action electronics.
The somewhat ancient electronize device will go back in the drawer.
Richard


Don't be too down on ancient electronics - so says an old bloke  %) [size=78%]. [/size][/size]Some of the oldest ways still work the best! [size=78%]
[/size]I've had reason to look at this kind of device for a few sub-projects. The off-the-shelf stuff is hard to read without decent technical descriptions - I think some 'switch power' from their supply voltage rather than being simple [better!] 'volt free contacts'. If you want to switch larger voltages or currents, then something using relays is likely to be more suitable. They're a lot easy to spec for the voltage/current. Doing the on/off isn't too challenging - a 50p microcontroller can do that. [size=78%]

Logged

RichardE

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2019, 09:58:34 PM »

I am not ditching the electronize switcher just because it is old!
It has none latching relays and Iím not even sure it is working properly.
Rather than spending a lot of time fiddling to get it working I would rather go for the other unit to save time.
I do have some rather old ďspot onĒ electronic servos but not enough channels on my radio to operate them, however I will be using them on other projects.
Richard
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,332
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2019, 10:15:52 PM »

HI Richard E I checked mine today and it was only a two way switch.  Sad to say but compared with today's units it is like a brick. No one is knocking old items but smaller and better units come on the market. When this item was made it was high tec and did a stirling job but like most things they get superseded and like mine they end up in dark drawer and one day in the bin.

Stan. :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :((
Logged

RichardE

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2019, 10:30:51 PM »

Hi Stan,
As a child of the 50s I find it difficult to discard anything but reluctantly accept than technology is changing so quickly that things become obsolete. Itís like the tape/cd or vhs/dvd/blue ray succession.
The 4 way switch you suggest will do the job well and will save the most valuable commodity ďtimeĒ. Even though retired I still have many commitments with the family.
Thanks again for your help with this.
Richard
Logged

RichardE

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Re: Electronize Switcher
« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2019, 07:06:17 PM »

4way switcher from Action-electronics purchased and tested.
Great piece of kit that will allow me to switch two search lights plus the other functions I need from one channel on my radio tx.
Thanks to Stan for putting me on to it.
Richard
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up