Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Saito T1 engine OB1 boiler ?  (Read 1512 times)

mrzippy

• Full Mayhemer
Saito T1 engine OB1 boiler ?
« on: February 19, 2020, 09:51:28 am »

Any Mayhemers like to comment regarding the Saito T1 engine and OB1 boiler please?
or recommend a similar small steam plant that is available to purchase, especially in the Uk??.

I'm a relative newbie when it comes steam power - to date managing to convert a Mamod stationary unit into a marine set up,
 powering a 30 inch stern wheeler, now working on similar size open prop powered launch and the Saito unit seems ideal.

I'm aware of the huge reputation Saito IC engines command for engineering quality and reliability, but know little about their steam units,
the T1 has the unique complication of tiny valve gear, unlike most steam small units being simple oscillators,
 I'm wondering could this be a problem from a wear point of view, shortening the life span of the engine ?

Then there's the problem of availability in the Uk and import taxes etc - 6 weeks delivery times quoted by Uk main importers,
 various websites - one in Belgium 24 hour delivery??  all suggestions gratefully appreciated thank you.  Zippy

redpmg

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Saito T1 engine OB1 boiler ?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2020, 08:50:17 pm »

Fellow club member had a Saito (triple?) many years ago  - well made - high quality . Had no problems with it . Problem with a single cylinder motor is that its not self starting and using a throttle you run the risk of stalling the engine when throttling back. If that happens in midstream you have a major problem....