Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units  (Read 192 times)

DaveM

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 576
  • Why on earth do I do this?
  • Location: Nottingham
Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units
« on: April 05, 2020, 01:42:11 PM »

I've been in PM correspondence with a member here but have been unable to send the promised wiring diagram to his Hotmail address. I'm therefore posting it on here. Sorry if anyone feels it's clogging up the system somehow, but it seems the only logical method.
DM

Logged

no1chunk

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: essex
Re: Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2020, 03:51:02 PM »

Thanks for that much appreciated it was my fault i put a wrong number in my email.
Logged

Taranis

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,958
  • Kirklees MBC/ Balne Moor MBC
  • Location: Yorkshire
Re: Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2020, 04:20:06 PM »

It's a terrific resource Dave thanks to yourself
https://action-electronics.co.uk/?page_id=66
Logged
ANDY .. I don't do lights!
Lobster boat
Portgarth
Every day above ground is a good one

Mark T

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,228
  • Location: Dudley in the Black Country
Re: Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2020, 05:09:34 PM »

Chris this is the set up that I have that we spoke about.  DaveM helped me enormously to get me to understand how it all worked.


I used 2 12v batteries which is a great way of adding much needed ballast and there is another Action gizmo which allows you to run the two batteries together without causing any problems but I cannot remember what its called.  Dave will probably say :)
Logged
Its not the finishing that matters - Its the journey along the way that counts

Fairmount Alpine Build http://modelboatmayhemimages.co.uk/album/bXv
Anteo Tug Build http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,59708.0.html

no1chunk

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: essex
Re: Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2020, 05:16:10 PM »

Thanks mark t his been a great help and just ordered my cable that i need just need to order prop shafts that i want. And the battery i was going to use if it fits and if the weight is needed is a 12v 20ah that iv got in my shed ready if not then il buy some others
Logged

david48

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 839
  • Location: Strathdon,Aberdeenshire
Re: Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2020, 05:36:47 PM »


HI no1chunk
I put 2 battery's in mine ,in the same position as the plan . A trick is to make 2 blocks of wood the same size as the battery and then you are sure of a place for the batterys and you have not to be bothered about the weight .Using the blocks lets you plan where the rest of the electronics go .   I found it easier to set it up so thy could be charged insitu .
 When you send me your email I will sort some pictures
David 
Logged
Two heads are better than one sheep head  as my old plant manager used to say

DaveM

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 576
  • Why on earth do I do this?
  • Location: Nottingham
Re: Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2020, 06:07:25 PM »

I used 2 12v batteries which is a great way of adding much needed ballast and there is another Action gizmo which allows you to run the two batteries together without causing any problems but I cannot remember what its called.  Dave will probably say :)
It's a P103, which prevents one battery from discharging into the other.
We used to have the wiring diagrams on the old ACTion website and they were moved to Component-Shop when the business passed over to them. They are available to view via the link Andy W posted - just be sure to click on the "Click Here to view" text. There are now over 160 diagrams for many different boats - I don't think the full list is on the CompShop website. I do have an Excel 2003 spreadsheet which lists all of them and shows, for each one, which ACTion units are required. This can be sent via regular E-Mail if you PM me your address.
Dave M
Logged

no1chunk

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: essex
Re: Fairmount Alpine + ACTion units
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2020, 07:42:20 PM »

Thanks guys made a note of the p103 u mentioned if i do need one if i got down 2 battery route.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up