Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mtroniks G2 Hydra30  (Read 2078 times)

rich_morris

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Mtroniks G2 Hydra30
« on: June 13, 2020, 06:38:18 am »

Hi,

I purchased a Mtroniks G2 Hydra30 ESC, which I originally intended to use with NiMh batteries, as I had a few from use with cars.
As it turns out my old NiMh batteries are about dead, so I thought I'd get some LiPo batteries.
Now I'm a beginner with those, and am not sure about those just yet - I'm reading up.

But regarding the ESC, I wonder if it has a low voltage protection. It's described as LiPo safe, but I really don't know what that means.

Does anybody have any knowledge of that type is ESC?

Thanks

Rich

malcolmfrary

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Mtroniks G2 Hydra30
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2020, 09:16:56 am »

The mtroniks advertising - https://www.mtroniks.net/prod/Boat-Speed-Controls/Hydra-30.htm - and the instructions in the link at the bottom of that page are both shy about what "LiPo Safe" actually means.  It could mean a drop in power giving reduced speed, a cut of power saving battery drain but leaving the boat drifting, or intermittent intermittent power.  All of which are warnings, but doesn't say.
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Taranis

• Full Mayhemer
  • Balne Moor MBC
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2020, 09:33:57 am »

LiPo safe is all about protecting the battery from over discharge. Most likely has a pre set cut off of 3.2volts per cell at which point your boat is stranded until the voltage recovers slightly which might get you back to the bank slowly.
Better spec ESC's can be set for battery type and voltage cut off level or no cut off.

LiPo batteries can be regarded as damaged by the charger if the voltage reads too low and it will refuse to recharge it
ANDY
You’ll only know your best effort if you don’t give up.

Taranis

• Full Mayhemer