Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: old blueprints.....a problem  (Read 1938 times)

Klunk

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • If you know who I am, please remind me!!
old blueprints.....a problem
« on: August 30, 2020, 07:36:37 am »

I have several old sets of plans done in the old dyeline blue. the biggest problem i have now is that they are fading, even though they are kept in rolled condition and in tubes in a dark dry area.
I have tried scanning them, but they come out really crap. I was thinking of overdrawing them with black ink.
any other ideas on how to keep these plans before they fade away?
SECRETARY - LUTON AND DISTRICT MODEL BOAT CLUB
full time penguin

Klunk

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: old blueprints.....a problem
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2020, 07:38:36 am »

ps the scanning was a professional scanner, not a home scanner! I worked in the print trade!
full time penguin

BrianB6

• Full Mayhemer
  • I'm not sure if I can get up from here
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2020, 08:30:18 am »

Once the image has faded it is gone although there are a few cases where keeping them in the dark has brought back the image but if they have been in the dark until now, that probably will not work.   Depending on your drawing ability and the complexity you could try tracing over the drawing and then have a modern print made.
To prevent 'bleed through' Blueprints should be stored flat between acid free paper and not rolled.   There are a number of web sites that explain their conservation

Baldrick

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2020, 09:15:22 am »

Klunk, Can you clarify , when you say blueprint do you mean the type of print where the background is blue and the lines and print are white or are you referring to the DIAZO print where the background is white and the lines and work are in blue line ?  ( white print)