Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello and hopefully some advice on Milford Star or Boston Typhoon  (Read 2069 times)

eternal422

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!

Hello everyone!  My name is Tony and I am relatively new to modelling, having built a Riverside Models narrowboat (built from plywood throughout with no pre-formed hull and some planking for the bow) which I thoroughly enjoyed and got a great kick out of sailing it on a local canal!  So I have some experience of RC and components, happy enough to build another RC model. 

This time I am looking for something with some more detail and something that will keep me occupied throughout the winter months!  So, I am thinking about the Caldercraft Milford Star kit, although toying with the Mountfleet Boston Typhoon (which I appreciate is a lot larger model).  I love the look of both ships, but from what I have read on here and elsewhere, starting to feel a little anxious about the quality of plans and instructions for the Milford Star - maybe the Mountfleet Boston Typhoon would be an easier build for me?

Does anyone have any suggestions or advice?  Maybe there is another kit that would be better for me?

Many thanks for reading, looking forward to hearing any comments 😀
Riverside Models Narrowboat
Mountfleet Models Danny Boy

eternal422

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Hello and hopefully some advice on Milford Star or Boston Typhoon
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2020, 03:05:02 pm »

Looking at the Mountfleet "Danny Boy" now as a possible slightly easier model for me !

terry horton

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2020, 04:43:34 pm »

The Danny Boy is a nice looking boat and I built one around five years ago.
Over the years I built Mountfleet Bangarth, Puffer and Caldercraft Talacre and Customs Cutter Sentenel from Model slipways . All still in the Fleet , strong and admired by many.