Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Connecting twin rudders to one servo  (Read 684 times)

Sparrow

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Norfolk
Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« on: December 23, 2020, 10:18:39 pm »

Please can anyone suggest a way to connect two small rudders to a single servo on a small lifeboat i have started i am using brass rod in brass tubes so need to connect from top rods to servo, any advice would be helpful.                 Many thanks Peter. (sparrow)
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,240
  • Location: West Yorks
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2020, 11:10:52 pm »

Hi Sparrow pm sent to you.


Stan
Logged

Taranis

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,172
  • Balne Moor MBC
  • Location: Yorkshire
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2020, 11:14:58 pm »

One of a number of ways Peter
Logged
ANDY
Youíll only know your best effort if you donít give up.

Taranis

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,172
  • Balne Moor MBC
  • Location: Yorkshire
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2020, 11:17:26 pm »

Another way
Logged
ANDY
Youíll only know your best effort if you donít give up.

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,240
  • Location: West Yorks
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2020, 11:21:38 pm »

Thank you Taranis just how I would tackle the job.We could do with some pictures it sounds like it is only small model space may be tight.


Stan
Logged

Taranis

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,172
  • Balne Moor MBC
  • Location: Yorkshire
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2020, 11:23:50 pm »

Another
Logged
ANDY
Youíll only know your best effort if you donít give up.

Taranis

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,172
  • Balne Moor MBC
  • Location: Yorkshire
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2020, 12:30:51 am »

Can you see the videos Peter? I posted in safari browser but google chrome browser does not show them. So I do not know what happens with other browsers.


Just in case here is a link to the first
https://techno.smugmug.com/Smitt-Rotterdam/i-qJNPRC3/A


The second
https://techno.smugmug.com/Amati-Riva-Aquarama/i-rDcXRR3/A
Logged
ANDY
Youíll only know your best effort if you donít give up.

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,034
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2020, 09:14:13 am »

Some suggestions for small models here - http://eezebilt.tk/radio.html - the rudder suggestion is a way down the page.  Only a single rudder set up is shown, but the system will accommodate two just as easily.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,240
  • Location: West Yorks
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2020, 09:35:30 am »

HI Sparrow  just two pictures showing a triple rudder set up for two rudders just remove one. Last picture one servo fitted between the rudders hope all the replies and links help.


Stan.
Logged

tugboyben

  • Kirkleesmodelboatclub
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 730
  • HIGHNOON TUG BOAT
  • Location: LIVERSEDGE
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2020, 11:24:39 am »

One i did on twin steerable kort nozzles


Jason
Logged

Sparrow

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Norfolk
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2020, 09:18:44 pm »

Thank you all for your suggestions I just could not think how to connect but now it look straight forward, I thought I replied last night I typed a reply but must have hit delete instead of send it was getting late,                    I hope to get my daughter to help me to post photo`s again I managed a few years back but will try again.          Where do P M s get sent ? I looked on emails but nothing there.  Many thanks for help Peter.  (sparrow)
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,240
  • Location: West Yorks
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2020, 09:30:53 pm »

Hi Peter when you open the home page you will see my messages click on that this will open your pm. Just select inbox you should see some from me.


Stan
Logged

Sparrow

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Norfolk
Re: Connecting twin rudders to one servo
« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2020, 10:21:09 pm »

Thanks Stan hope my P M worked to you found out how after asking question.                                                     Thanks again Peter.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up