Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello all from a new member  (Read 675 times)

pauljarvis

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Hello all from a new member
« on: February 25, 2021, 05:32:33 pm »

Just like to say hi to all, as I'm a new member of the forum.  I'm a 71 year old male, happily retired since 2003, and living in South Wales.  My main hobby since retiring has been making stained glass pictures, mostly my interpretation of pre-Raphaelite paintings, with John William Waterhouse my main inspiration.  I worked in the oil and gas industry, often offshore on pipelay and topsides installation projects, since graduating with a degree in marine engineering.  However, before that I served an apprenticeship and cadetship with Union Castle line and spent a couple of years at sea as a cadet and junior engineer, which is why I have a love of the sea and ships. My first ship was the MV Clan Menzies and I would love to build a model of it but have so far not been able to find any plans.  I got into model building a couple of years ago after buying two model boats in a charity shop, and this inspired me to try my hand, starting with a couple of kits - the Billings's Norden and the Marina II.  Since then I have built two scratch-build using the lift method - the Consul-Pust and Nietlogger, whose plans were easily available, and lent themselves to a 1:100 scale build.  I would really like to build some more sub-50m trawlers - preferably steam or early diesel - so if anyone has plans of a suitable candidate for my next build I would be very grateful (sell, lend or copy, whatever!). Please get in touch by email if you can help prjarvis49@gmail.com.  Cheers for now.

Stan

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Hello all from a new member
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2021, 06:34:11 pm »