Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pitman Motor  (Read 1609 times)

Stavros

  • Guest
Pitman Motor
« on: October 15, 2007, 08:58:33 PM »

Right me harties HELP me has got a pitman motor lying around and I think it would do nicely for my Tid Tug but what ESC shouls I buy and what amperage will it cinsume listed below are the numbers in order as they appear on the motor label

14203D243
127E08850
12VDC
8-29-94


Help on this one would be appreciated cheers
Stavros
Logged

Telstar

  • Guest
Re: Pitman Motor
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2007, 09:14:58 AM »

Hi
From Info on Pitman 14000 series motors, the 14--3 motor 12vdc which I THINK may be the type of motor you have:-

design voltage 12Vdc
motor resistance 0.37ohm
Max. stall current  33A
no load rpm @ 12v 3500

This motor is about 2.1in diameter and about 4in long (+shaft), although there was a variant that had an encoder added to one end about an extra inch.
Without being able to check the motor these values are an educated guess. these motors were made as servo drive units, hence the encoder variant. Pitman also made variants on "standard" for some customers.
The easiest thing to check is the resistance, if its about right then the max current will be. The ESC can be decided from there.   Hope this helps
Logged

Shipmate60

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,276
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
  • Location: Fareham
Re: Pitman Motor
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2007, 08:10:37 PM »

Stavros,
If the motor is as stated it might be a tad fast if you fit a scale prop (aprox 63mm, I think), but you dont have to use all the speed.

Bob
Logged
Officially a GOG.

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Pitman Motor
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2007, 10:41:03 PM »

The motor only seems to run at around 1500rpm very slow,I was thinking, well you know me about, a 3inch prop to turn it into a speedytug!!!!!

Stavros
Logged

Shipmate60

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,276
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
  • Location: Fareham
Re: Pitman Motor
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2007, 11:19:59 PM »

So why not try it, there is plenty of room to let you change the motor if required.

Bob
Logged
Officially a GOG.

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,910
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Pitman Motor
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2007, 12:44:53 AM »

I'd have thought one of the Mtroniks controllers should fit the bill.

Something like the Viper 20 would get it done I reckon, although under the stall current, I find Pittman motors are usually very efficient so it probably won't pull anything close to that in your boat.

Andy
Pages: [1]   Go Up