Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need information of lip's and charging and run time  (Read 1498 times)

phillnjack3

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Need information of lip's and charging and run time
« on: May 19, 2021, 10:31:38 pm »

Hello
This is now going to be a post showing how thick I am when it comes to Brushless motors, lipoo's charging them exactly what are they and what on earth is the difference in the c thing on them.
once again I am new to this , nothing on these seems anything like ive encountered before.

First what I need to know is
1/  what is the difference been a battery pack saying 30c 40c 75c etc and yet all the same number of cells and amp hour ?
 i.e  4s 5000mAH 30c   and  4s 5000mAH 75cc  ?

2 if I use a motor to say power a 36 inch huntsman or spearfish for example at a good turn of speed
any suggestions on what size and type of outrunner motor I would be needing ?
How many cells to power it, what sort of run time (longer the better )

what number on the batteries do I need to look for  / 30 c 40c 75 c etc

dont forget im very new to this stuff.

thanks in advance
phill

kinmel

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Need information of lip's and charging and run time
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2021, 08:20:36 am »

This covers it quite well....  https://rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide
A deeper guide......     https://learningrc.com/lipo-battery/

phillnjack3

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2021, 12:38:39 pm »

Thanks Kinmel

Wow, there is a lot more to these things than i thought.
from a quick read i am best to get the higher c number than the motor can ever get too (stalled ).
so roughly 40c "should " be ok in a boat ???  still not sure on this as not yet decided on what motor i realy need.

i am after something that would say propel a 36 inch huntsman at a good rate of speed , but also