Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Precedent perkasa  (Read 847 times)

Rich griff

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Precedent perkasa
« on: July 08, 2021, 07:42:13 pm »

I'm a newbie and still looking around the site...

I have seen the revel flower class thread and will be reading all of that as I have an old airfix version which came to me from a friend, built as a static model but in a poor state.

I will be converting to RC electric and making it good enough...

Is there a thread about the precedent perkasa kit, fibre glass hull ?

This came to me from the same person as above with the deck off the hull and partly built.

I would like to complete it with a petrol motor and centrifugal clutch...

All info of the perkasa, ic or electric greatly appreciated, it would be the only if boat of interest to me, and would need a wheeled transporter to get it to the lake, with an electric back up ( maybe ic powered "generator" and electric powered ) system, the lake is hundreds of feet deep, an old quarry pit.

All help greatly appreciated...rich.

SteamboatPhil

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Precedent perkasa
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2021, 10:03:40 pm »

Hi Rich (I have just posted on your newbie bit  :-)) )
How big a Perkasa hull have you got, as to even fit a small (22cc) petrol engine would be a squeeze, and adding an additional get out of trouble electric motor might make things even tighter  O0 . I do see your problem as a friend of mine lost his boat (it sort of went down rather than along )in the pandan lake at llanberis. Greater minds than mine will have great advice (I being mainly steam) but I would go with brushless and if you have the radio gear a second small motor (slave drive ie second small shaft to one side separate control) that will get you home. And you get reverse with electric  :-)
Hope this helps a little.
Steamed up all the time

Rich griff