Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can two servos (drum winch) operate simultaneously from a radio receiver  (Read 1653 times)

Lance

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!

I am a novice modeller and am converting a pond yacht (70cm LOA) to RC control. Is it possible to set up an RC drum winch system, with 1 or 2 winches, to control the jib and main sails simultaneously? Can two drum winches be connected to the one RC receiver terminal?

Leaky Bottom

• Full Mayhemer

Yes, 2 servos or drum winches can be connected to a single receiver output, you will need a Y lead, The plug connects to the receiver and the 2 sockets are for the winch plugs
"Leave me alone I know what I'm doing"

Netleyned

• Full Mayhemer
    • cleethorpes mba

You only need one winch.
Either use a double drum on the sailwinch or a continuous loop with the mainsheet and jibsheet attached at convenient points on it
You would be best puiitng a spring in the line to keep a bit of tension on the loop.
Ned.
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

malcolmfrary

• Full Mayhemer

Normally the reason for more than one winch is that there is a need to operate the sails individually, thus on different channels.
Normally a single line from the drum to above deck ending in a block where the lines to the sails connect plus the tension line that ensures that slack lines don't happen.  The tension line can be eliminated by using a continuous loop, as suggested earlier.
A limitation of extra servos on a Y lead is the current drawn. 
Depending on the servos and their loading, this might be more than the wiring between battery and receiver, and through the receiver, can handle.  Most winches are servos, and draw all their power via the receiver. Unless the wiring harness is rearranged to allow for a separate supply.