Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mountfleet Highlander Query  (Read 1337 times)

Ralph

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Mountfleet Highlander Query
« on: December 25, 2021, 09:58:31 pm »

Evening all, I hope Santa has been good to you.

SWMBO has bought me the Highlander kit from Mountfleet (I must have been a good boy this year :} ) for xmas.  I'm thinking about fitting a smoke generator, which is something I've never tried before, so I'm looking for recommendations/suggestions on what would be best.

The instructions suggest a Decaperm drive motor but these are like hens teeth so I'm also wondering what others have used?  I'm thinking perhaps making a 3:1 or thereabouts belt drive on a 600 type motor fitted with a torque ring but I'm open to any ideas or suggestions.  The kit comes with a 65mm 4 blade brass prop and I've never used anything that big before either.  Power could be either 6 or 12v which will probably be dictated by what the smoke generator needs.

I have to say that after a quick browse through the kit I am very impressed with the quality of everything supplied, looks like it will be an enjoyable build. Target time on the water maybe 2023?

Have a good new year when it comes everyone.

Ralph

JimG

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Mountfleet Highlander Query
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2021, 12:00:59 pm »

Hi Ralph, lucky you, you've got some good building ahead of you.