Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Easiest CAD Software to learn?  (Read 1674 times)

RichM

• Full Mayhemer
  • Ex Trawler Owner!!!
Easiest CAD Software to learn?
« on: May 22, 2023, 10:13:25 am »

Ive got myself a Creality Halot Lite resin 3D Printer, finally! Along with the Wash and Cure station.
To say im loving it is an understatement!! Ive been on it for a week solid now and printed off enough stuff to kit out two 1/16th Fishing boats im currently building.
Ive around 300 parts all 'Sliced' in Lychee and ready to print so far.
What i'd like to know, Is i'd like to draw up a few bits myself but I am a complete novice where CAD software is concerned.
Is there something out there that is easy to use and learn?
I've tried TinkerCAD and dont like it as its Cloud based. Id like something that I can have on the laptop at all times that doesnt need the web ideally.
Microsoft 3D Builder?
Thanks in advance.
Treat her like your mother, cause if you don’t, she will bite back!

Stumps

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Easiest CAD Software to learn?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2023, 11:51:26 am »

I'm currently using FreeCad, which is a free and open source. There are a lot of tutorials on youtube and as a complete novice I've managed to create several items for my tug. It's well worth a look.

Andyn

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2023, 12:44:42 pm »

Fusion 360, by far the best free software you can get with endless tutorial videos on YouTube

Damien Mac

• apparently its grim up north
  • Full Mayhemer
  • Me I'm Mac
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2023, 11:19:37 am »

+1 For Fusion 360 , pretty easy to get to grips with, Use it to teach my son CAD Cam. (home edu) I use for both 3d printing and on my small cnc router..
Free licence needs renewing each year but its trouble free and cloud based. you can save you work cloud and locally.