Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Shaft speeds, Motors, ESCs and other confusions  (Read 2507 times)

Cliff

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Shaft speeds, Motors, ESCs and other confusions
« on: February 23, 2022, 12:16:40 pm »

Good day all,

I am a long retired Brit who has lived on a Greek island in the Aegean for the last 20 or so years. We have no model clubs and no-one to discuss problems with so I looked at the various online forums. I was very impressed with the knowledge base on this forum, and honoured to be allowed to register.

I have been building and flying scale helicopters for a couple of years and have built a couple of static/display steam boats but I am a newbie as far as RC boats are concerned. I have just started building a 1/12 scale model of the Bluebird of Chelsea yacht from the Chinese kit.

So far there are no problems with the build. The Mayhem topic "Bluebird of Chelsea - My Winter Build" by jpdenver has been a great help and inspiration.

Before I start planking I want to specify the electronics. The kit came with a pair of Johnson 775 size brushed motors. The identical unit is on Ebay:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/254604745274?hash=item3b47a01a3a:g:InwAAOSwsxVdflF~

From that site the voltage, speed and current specs are as below:

Voltage:12V  No-load speed:14000 RPM Current:1.7A

Voltage:18V  No-load speed:21500 RPM Current:1.9A
Voltage:20V  No-load speed:24000 RPM Current:2.1A

The propellers supplied are rather nice 3 blade 55mm dia brass units.

I intend to use separate ESCs controlled from my Helicopter FrSky Horus Tx and probably an X8s Rx

My immediate questions are:
  • Where should I mount the twin Tx antenna? - They are rather short pcb types but I could change them for longer single dipoles. Where do you guys mount them, inside or sticking upwards on the cabin roof?