Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CAD software compatibility Designspark or other recommendation  (Read 805 times)

npomeroy

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
CAD software compatibility Designspark or other recommendation
« on: September 29, 2022, 01:37:07 am »

I'm just getting into 3D resin printing and want to be able to design my own parts as well as modify files from other contributors. I've downloaded the free version of DesignSpark which seems to be a very user-friendly program with good support but it seems to cost $1000 to get an add-on that allows importing files such as from solidworks. Is DesignSpark often used here? If that excludes me using imported files what software do you recommend? I'm looking at FreeCAD.
Cheers
Nelson

grendel

• Full Mayhemer
Re: CAD software compatibility Designspark or other recommendation
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2022, 06:48:24 pm »

fusion 360 has a free to hobbyist version, but most
free cad packages have some limitations, whether its the number of active files, or certain conversions

npomeroy

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2022, 12:01:33 am »

fusion 360 has a free to hobbyist version, but most
free cad packages have some limitations, whether its the number of active files, or certain conversions

Thanks.  Yes I looked at Fusion 360 and it seem you need to pretend to be a teacher (which is possible) or is there an explicit hobbyist category? Actually I'm keen on FreeCAD which seems to have a good user manual and appears to have full import/export ability.

grendel

• Full Mayhemer

ddmckee54

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2022, 05:53:15 pm »