Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Budget Radio ?  (Read 1477 times)

Tug Fanatic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,248
  • Location: England
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2022, 12:33:33 pm »

Colin
I fly DSM2 as well.

I agree that protocols can be difficult. Spektrum have had, I think, 4 different protocols. Some receivers work with multiple transmitter protocols some don't. It almost feels like planned product churn to me so that we keep buying new stuff.

I am aware of multiprotocol transmitters ( not Spektrum) but they are expensive and I am not convinced about their reliability for flying although the drone community seems to use them. Having said that may drones are 75mm or 100mm diameter so they cannot be flown very far away without FPV about which I know very little.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,095
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #26 on: July 31, 2022, 01:30:06 pm »

I use a multi-protocol module, wasn't very expensive. No issues whatsoever. Effortlessly change between Corona, Spektrum, Futaba, Frsky etc. The protocol switches with the model memory.

Manufacturers shot themselves in the foot with the different 2.4ghz standards. They should have got together and come up with a common standard, instead they tried to lock modellers into their specific brand, and opened up a market for cheaper competition.

Tug Fanatic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,248
  • Location: England
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #27 on: July 31, 2022, 01:36:29 pm »

I use a multi-protocol module, wasn't very expensive. No issues whatsoever. Effortlessly change between Corona, Spektrum, Futaba, Frsky etc. The protocol switches with the model memory. ......................


Is that an add on module to a FrSky transmitter or something else?

I looked at buying one but the add on modules appear to have become out of stock and the transmitters with the included modules expensive..................unless you can help.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,095
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #28 on: July 31, 2022, 06:17:12 pm »

One of these. Used with a Turnigy 9XRpro. They'll work with most openTX tranamitters.

https://www.hobbyrc.co.uk/jumper-4in1-multiprotocol-module

Tug Fanatic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,248
  • Location: England
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #29 on: July 31, 2022, 06:22:02 pm »

Thanks for that but as you can see they are out of stock which they have been for some time.

Hopefully availability will change.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,095
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines

Colin Bishop

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 11,564
  • Location: SW Surrey, UK
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #31 on: July 31, 2022, 06:48:08 pm »

I bought my Radiolink from Howes as the price was good and they had it in stock in the UK. It arrived two days later.

I know most of this gear comes from China but I prefer the peace of mind dealing with a UK retailer even if it cost a little more.

Colin
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,095
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #32 on: July 31, 2022, 08:57:44 pm »

For me, when it comes to electronics often the problem is I can't find what I'm looking for from UK stockists.

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22,080
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #33 on: August 01, 2022, 10:54:03 pm »


What do people use for Budget Radio these days, now the HobbyKing only have skeletons in stock these days?

I'm actually after HK-TR6a v2  Rx for the HJK-T4a v2 Tx
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/hobbyking-2-4ghz-mode-2-4ch-tx-rx-v2.html


Looks like I may just need AFHDS  compatible Receivers, like the  Flysky FS-GR3E AFHDS !   :-))
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?4063255-Compatible-receivers-to-HK-T4A-transmitter
 
 
 
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!" -  Visit the Mayhem FaceBook Groups!  &  Giant Models

John W E

  • I see no ships !!
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,675
  • Location: South shields
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #34 on: August 03, 2022, 04:53:17 pm »

hi, well, me budget radio from Ebay arrived this morning.   The Fly sky model number FS-T4B.     It came with a 6 channel receiver - batteries were not included.


First impressions - yes it does look cheap and it will not take many knocks I feel.  But, having said that, it is basic - no end points adjustment.   There is the reversal switches for each channel on the front, plus, the bind button and it has something called the range test on it - I need to work this one out.


Came basically packaged in a box but the instructions are in German and I think Spanish - definitely foreign :-)   English writing on the box and that is it . 


I am quite happy with it for 26.00 plus 4.00 odd postage.


John
Logged
Knowledge begins with respect
But fools hate wisdom and discipline

Colin Bishop

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 11,564
  • Location: SW Surrey, UK
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #35 on: August 03, 2022, 05:06:26 pm »

That's a lot of cells for a 2.4GHz set John.

Colin
Logged

JimG

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,078
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Dundee
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #36 on: August 03, 2022, 08:30:26 pm »

The range test button will reduce the transmitted power output when pressed. This is used with aircraft to check the receiver reception, you should be able to walk away around 60 paces and still be getting the signal. If this works then it will give at least 1Km range when not pressed. Not so important with a boat as you will be unlikely to need such a range as this is way out of sight.
Jim
Logged
Dundee Model Boat club

Car wash !!!

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: biggleswade
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #37 on: August 09, 2022, 06:36:57 pm »

We use these for our have a go boats that the kids use and all four are still working after four years of abuse
Stevenage MBC
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22,080
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Budget Radio ?
« Reply #38 on: August 14, 2022, 06:04:58 pm »

Anyone interested in a Spektrum DX6i & Rx   BNIB?








Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!" -  Visit the Mayhem FaceBook Groups!  &  Giant Models
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up