Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Oakley Lifeboat - RNLB Sir James Knott 37-08  (Read 1069 times)

lukepicknett

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Oakley Lifeboat - RNLB Sir James Knott 37-08
« on: September 21, 2022, 03:44:17 pm »

Hi all, I have decided to create a new thread for an RNLI model, this one being a 37 foot Oakley, the RNLB Sir James Knott, ex Redcar Lifeboat. This will be my very first attempt at building a model and being only 26 I do not posses years and years of experience in this field however my day job is a mechanical fitter, so with some patience and care I think I can make a good go of it!

Choosing an Oakley was an easy choice for me, Not only being my favourite class of boat it was the boat at my station. I have a small collection of model lifeboats already however my current ones are all static and are a fibreglass hull. For this build I wanted a challenge so opted for the frame and double diagonal planking.

After looking at some builds on the forum and various Facebook pages I went ahead and got the drawings copied and the first lot of timber ordered.

I this build in June 2022 but decided on creating this thread September so the first few posts will be backdated.

JoJoElbe

• kind of lifeboat nerd .... just kind of ...
  • Full Mayhemer
    • modellwerft.spuelsaum.de (german + engl summarys)
Re: Oakley Lifeboat - RNLB Sir James Knott 37-08
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2022, 05:38:25 pm »

Hi,don't worry and if you have problems or questions, always ask.  That's what helped me over so many problems. I'm more than double of you age bust just started Sept. 2016 with model boats.

For this build I wanted a challenge so opted for the frame and double diagonal planking.