Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Old Newbie Here  (Read 852 times)

BrianS

• Shipmate
  • Retired but still learning.
Old Newbie Here
« on: October 08, 2023, 03:27:31 pm »

Hello, I'm Brian a 75 year old and I'm based in Newton Abbot down here in Devon.

I started building model RC gliders during covid to pass the time and to date I still haven't flown any of them.  I then built a land yacht based on 1.5" plastic tube and then a small Footy sailboat which I enjoyed building.

I'm looking for something a bit bigger to build over the coming winter so at the moment am busy reading forums such as this one to reduce the number of errors that can occur so easily.

Thanks for letting me n.

Brian

John W E

• I see no ships !!
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: Old Newbie Here
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2023, 04:51:04 pm »

hi there

Welcome to the Forum, Brian.

It may help us to help you, if you can give us an indication of what floats your boat - are you liking tugs, power boats, fishy boats, saily boats, navy lark vessels  :-))  .

Most of us on this Forum do have a favourite sort of boat that we like - some of them like lifey boats.   O0

john
Knowledge begins with respect
But fools hate wisdom and discipline

Martin (Admin)

• Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
    • Model Boat Mayhem
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2023, 05:44:43 pm »

Also, what materials you are comfortable with , wood, plastics, fibreglass, metals etc...   :-))
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!" -  Visit the Mayhem FaceBook Groups!  &  Giant Models

Circlip

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2023, 10:32:00 am »

and whatever base material you choose, Martin has a glue for it!    O0

Regards  Ian.
You might not like what I say, but that doesn't mean I'm wrong.

What I said is not what you  think you heard.

BrianS

• Shipmate
  • Retired but still learning.