The Shipyard ( Dry Dock ): Builds & Questions > Pleasure boats, Sports, Race, Power and Leisure Boats:

Gasoline engines

(1/5) > >>

TomF:
I wasn't sure where to post this, but since my interest is pleasure/leisure boats I put it here.
Has anyone any experience/suggestions for fitting a gasoline engine in a largish and scalish model boat (1m in length)
Like the Holt tractor engine and inline-six and inline-four[size=78%] but worry about being too noisy.[/size]

https://www.enginediy.com/products/h75-12cc-vertical-4-cylinder-ohv-gas-engine-internal-combustion-engine-tractor-engine-model-with-mechanical-speed-limit-complete-water-circulation-cooling-system?variant=42269260677334

https://www.stirlingkit.com/collections/4-stroke-engine/products/howin-l6-210-21cc-straight-six-gasoline-engine-model-building-kits-water-cooled

Thanks

1967Brutus:
I have no direct experience with the engines you linked, but I DO own the Toyan V-8.

There is no doubt that these engines "run", somewhat, but boy.... they are basically nice discussion items, not engineered or designed to actually power something.

Don't expect any meaningful power OR service life out of them.
I was a bit appalled at design features that should be a matter of "Duh" for any engine designer worth his salt, like for example ignition plugs recessed about 6 or 7 mm into their threads, meaning a very poor ignition and combustion behaviour, a cooling system with water inlets that are WAY too small to allow proper flow for the amount of heat generated, weird and unsuitable crankshaft support bearing design, intake systems that are WAY too small and restrictive, let alone totally mismatched for symetrical fuel/air distribution, and such.

They most definitely LOOK the part, but as a functional engine capable of delivering meaningful power (and I do not even mean "all out power", just "useful" would be enough) they most likely will not satisfy.