Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: hello I'm new here  (Read 512 times)

MikeMcP

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
hello I'm new here
« on: March 07, 2024, 10:11:39 am »

hello
I'm Mike
been modelling beats on and off since the 1970's
just starting out on a scratch Clyde Puffer, based on plans from Model Boats 1980

but as I'm not very good with the modelling knife, I started by building a laser cutter :)

cheers
Mike

Dave_S.

• Full Mayhemer
  • Member of Oxford Model Boat Club
Re: hello I'm new here
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2024, 10:19:48 am »

Hi Mike, I'd like to read more about your laser cutter.
Ruining perfectly good kits since 1969.

MikeMcP

• Shipmate
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2024, 10:39:38 am »

Hi Mike, I'd like to read more about your laser cutter.

Hello Dave
bed size 500mm x 600mm
10W laser
3 steppers driving timing belts
Arduino, Protoneer and GRBL
hope that makes sense!

I'm in the process of writing it up as a series of articles for Model Boats
I'll post here when it gets published :)

Geoff

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2024, 10:59:45 am »

Welcome aboard, you will find the site very friendly and informative for all aspects of model boating.

Cheers

Geoff

MikeMcP

• Shipmate
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2024, 11:05:28 am »

hello Geoff
thanks!
Mike

Dave_S.

• Full Mayhemer
  • Member of Oxford Model Boat Club
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2024, 11:48:18 am »

Hello Dave
bed size 500mm x 600mm
10W laser
hope that makes sense!

I'm in the process of writing it up as a series of articles for Model Boats
I'll post here when it gets published :)