Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Receiver Aerial  (Read 2343 times)

aestus57

• Full Mayhemer
  • Pentland Model Boat Club
Receiver Aerial
« on: November 14, 2007, 03:44:00 pm »

Hi folks,

Here's what is probably a very basic question,.... I need to "hide" my R/C receiver aerial wire up the side of the mast, is it OK to cut the aerial wire and insert a plug and socket, (to allow the receiver to be removable) as long as I don't alter the original length of the aerial. ??  or doesn't the length of the aerial matter??

Many thanks
Peter

Think I'm suffering from De Ja Vu,   I'm sure I've forgotten this before!

Tug-Kenny RIP

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Receiver Aerial
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2007, 03:53:11 pm »

I'm no expert, but only viewing this question from an electrical point of view.

The connections of the contacts must be of good quality and NOT come apart during sailing, as the receiver won't like the short piece left.  It seems, from information I have learned from club members is it doesn't matter if the lead is too long, but it certainly does if it's too short.

Hope this helps, as I go this route with a removeable cabin/Ariel setup.

Cheers...Ken

Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

DickyD

• Full Mayhemer
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
    • SRCMBC
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2007, 04:01:02 pm »

Yes plug and socket is OK as long as you have a good connection Peter.
I always keep aerial wire the same length, others will disagree.

Works for me O0
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

Bryan Young

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2007, 07:45:55 pm »