Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi all!! Model Selection,please help..  (Read 2509 times)

ManosGR

Hi all!! Model Selection,please help..
« on: December 05, 2007, 03:00:10 am »

Hi all.. Congratulations to the mods for this nice board..
I am a university student (electric and electrical engineering - mostly control) and i have to buy a ship model for a project..
My problem is that I am a total noob here, but i have to search for the appropriate model to buy, so i hope that asking here could help me..
I am looking for a r/c model of a commercial ship, tag, warship etc..(not a craft), with 2 propellers, 2 bow thrusters and a rudder..
It should be able to carry almost 3 Kg of extra weight and have a free area on the top around 15x15cm to place the electronics..
(I could free some area by not placing the upper parts and the bridge - though don't know if this is possible..)

In Greece there are available some models by AVIORACING and GRAUPNER. The GRAUPNER ones seem to be close to what i am looking for(neptun/sydney) but i would like some info about their quality.. Are there any other brands?

Finally, if anyone can give me a link of some e-shops with this kind of models would help me a lot(especially European)

Thank you, hope you can help me..

tigertiger

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: Hi all!! Model Selection,please help..
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2007, 03:51:10 am »

Hi ManosGR

It may help a lot if you give us more info about your project and what you want to achieve. There are many engineers on this forum who may be able to help with the 'hows' of some of what you want to achieve.

You say you want to put electrics above deck.
What electrics are they?
What purpose do you want to achieve by doing this?

I ask as there may be a better ways to achieve your goal, that one of the forum members could suggest.