Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about RC  (Read 1957 times)

ManosGR

Question about RC
« on: March 03, 2008, 08:58:16 am »

Hi,
I am a student at a greek university and I plan on buying Graupner Sydney Star for a project at my department. The problem I am facing is that I would like to be able to control the model through a computer and not the RC unit. I know there are a few RC models that support communication with a PC through a serial port, but I cant find something similar to buy. Is there a Radio that supports this function? Or else is there something else you can suggest to help me? (I will need a 6 Ch R/C).Thank you for your time..

malcolmfrary

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Question about RC
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2008, 10:42:00 am »

Being a two-channel 27meg sort of guy, this is a bit off my patch. 
If you want to remote control the moving boat, you are pretty much stuck with a radio working in the approved band.  If you just want to use the PC as a replacement for the TX control sticks, then I'm sure that the major makers have models with trainer facilities where one TX can be "buddied-up" with another- whether these are OK for PC connection is not something I know about, but there might well be a converter box for RS232 or USB to whatever standard the TX wants to see on its input socket.   There are certainly model helicopter flight simulators that use the TX as a control unit for the PC, but this is the wrong way round for this application.
I have seen remote control systems in the Maplin catalog that allow a PC to work a selection of remote devices, but because of range, legality and price problems I never bothered to follow them up.
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Welsh_Druid

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2008, 10:55:53 am »

Wasn't something similar  discussed in this thread ?