Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Winch Question, Newbie !!!  (Read 1967 times)

zebec63

Winch Question, Newbie !!!
« on: February 03, 2008, 08:25:33 pm »

Hi all, prob not the right place to ask this but as I'm a newbie !!!
I am about to start construction of my first ship, A french sloop, 3 masts, square rigged, partly kit built, part scratch build. 1/48 scale so not too big. About a metre long.
I am looking for a sail winch that only moves when the Tx stick is off the centre point. Basicaly when the Tx stick is centred the winch stays put, either in or out.
Does anyone know of a commercialy made unit or am I going to have to scratch build one ?

Thanks   Shaun

dougal99

• Full Mayhemer
  • Huntingdon, Cambs, England
Re: Winch Question, Newbie !!!
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2008, 08:44:40 pm »

Hi there Shaun

Welcome to the forum. You can achieve what you want by using a ratchet on the TX stick, so that it remains where you leave it, thus the winch stays where it was left.

HTH

Doug
Don't Assume Check

zebec63

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2008, 09:02:20 pm »

Thanks for the reply,

I had considered using the ratchet but I am hoping to use three separate winches, one for the foremast, one for the main and mizzen (linked) and one for the driver. Each on it's own channel and a std servo for the rudder.
Main reason for this type of winch is to try and keep the sailing simple.
Any other advice would be welcome

Thanks  Shaun

Tug-Kenny RIP

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2008, 11:29:14 am »

I have a Futaba Skysport 6 on which there is a channel controlled by a Knob. This would stay in the position which was selected. I use it to control a servo with switches on, so maybe this would be ideal for you ?

Cheers...Ken

Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

zebec63

« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2008, 11:18:18 am »

Hi,