Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Deck layout  (Read 4675 times)

Puff OWind

Deck layout
« on: July 05, 2006, 06:23:52 pm »

I am refurbishing a couple of Marblehead yachts I got from the magic land of ebay.  I have no yacht building experience (but a thousand years - or so it seems - of modelling in other fields). I am after a simple plan view of the layout of the deck fittings - and in particular the run of the sheets and positioning of the winch, together with any fairleads etc..  I have looked at the Gilbert web site and I can't find  anything this basic!  As a non-yachtie I have zero experience to draw upon.

Is there a simple plan anywhere on the web???

David

Puff OWind

Re: Deck layout
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2006, 06:55:42 pm »

???

Erm, okay.  A few minutes ago there were five replies to this post...wherr've they gone???

david ???

Puff OWind

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2006, 07:09:14 pm »

I wasn't going mad....this lot have been deleted. Did I do something wrong or did the mods take umbridge at something I said ???

Hope not!

David

boatmadman
Chief Petty Officer

Re: winch line paths...help please.
? Reply #1 on: July 02, 2006, 06:25:21 pm ?   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi,
Dunno if this is any help, but...
When I raced 1m yachts (and built them) I had a continuous loop of line running for and aft on one side of the boat, passing through the deck to the winch, the limits of travel of the winch were set so that from one limit to the other was equivalent to the travel of the cord from for to aft or vice versa.
I then tied a line from the winch cord to the boom of each sail at a point suitable for the sail.
Hope this helps, not v clear I know but, any more q's please ask

ian

Report to moderator    Logged 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------