Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Revell Corvette vs Deans ?  (Read 9672 times)

JB

• Full Mayhemer
  • Resting in Drydock.
Revell Corvette vs Deans ?
« on: August 23, 2011, 10:48:51 pm »

I'm looking for a winter build and need to make a decision soon, the only essentials are it has to be R/C and not too large/heavy, I'm thinking about the plastic Corvette which is available for £60 at a model shop only 10 minutes away.

I've looked at the Deans range several times and their corvette is making my decision difficult, the running gear is included and its not a plastic kit which I would have to convert for R/C, the build is already well documented on the forum for the Revell but I can't see one for the Deans.

I have never built a glass/plastic card kit before, I have built almost everything else from Frog/Airfix/Monogram/Tamiya/Italeri etc, ships-cars-aircraft-bikes at a range of scales, R/C aircraft was my last serious hobby for 15 years, I only have a small indoor electric heli at the moment, I've just finished the Airfix Hood 1/600...yet again! the kit was in the local garden centre so I just got it for something to fill the odd quiet moments, I'll find a companion to go on the diorama later...maybe a carrier or destroyer if I can find one.

I suppose I really want to do the Deans Cossack or Daring but I'm unsure about the build and the time it might take, I'd want the model to be ready for the spring.

I'm looking for an opinion which kit I should go for bearing in mind my previous experience (none with a Deans kit!!!) and my requirements, I'm in something of a dilemma!

Ta

JB.

XJ6 - Powered by Jaguar   JB - Powered by Model Boat Mayhem - Currently On sabattical (forced-unpaid!)

doug james

Re: Revell Corvette vs Deans ?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2011, 11:56:25 pm »