Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello from New Member  (Read 1696 times)

miarkaf

• Shipmate
Hello from New Member
« on: June 15, 2011, 05:33:10 pm »

Hi there. My name is Alan and I live in Bath.
 I am very keen to start a new hobby in R/C boats, really scale warship type ships. My ultimate aim is to build a replica of the ship my late father served on during the second Word War, Colony Class Cruiser HMS Mauritus.
I realise this is way beyond my ability at the moment but we all need to aim high.....
I intend visiting the Local Boat Clubs in my area, but where would you experienced builders recommend I start?....Should I buy a second hand boat to learn the skills of R/C control or should I jump in and buy a kit? If so what kit would you recommend?.
I have a lot of experience in scratchbuilding model cars and layouts, so I am not unfamiliar with the arts of soldering/glue etc.....

Regards

Alan

PS I was considering one of the simpler Dean's Marine kits but reading some of the threads on here has put me off the idea somewhat.

Martin (Admin)

• Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Hello from New Member
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2011, 06:27:23 pm »

Hi Alan,

And Welcome aboard Mayhem!

Don't be too put off by the Deans Marine 'nay sayers' but maybe as a 2nd kit if you have no experience of model boat building.

If you don't already have a boat, buy a 2nd hand one just to get you on the water quickly.
 Ask about any model you find on here and we'll advise you of suitability, price, etc.

.... facilities to the left and tiffin served at sundown!

Martin  ok2

"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!" -  Visit the Mayhem FaceBook Groups!  &  Giant Models

Roadrunner

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2011, 07:11:49 pm »

Being one of the ''nay sayers'' as Martin so elegantly puts  %%